Baby Legs, take 2

Oh I love, love, LOVE these! As I mentioned in my last post, I was working on a pair of rainbow baby legwarmers. They have since found a home with my friend’s daughter for her first birthday. I really, really wanted to keep them, but I had made them long and skinny on purpose, far too long and skinny for Wesley’s chubby legs, but look how cute they are!

Sorry about the blurry photo, someone was wiggling around quite a bit.

These took a lot more time than Violet’s legwarmers for a couple of reasons. I used much skinnier yarn, smaller needles, and thus needed more stitches. Still, they are just as easy and straightforward as the first pair.

I used Knit Picks Felici Fingering Weight Yarn in their Rainbow colorway. I am seriously tempted to buy more of this color and to buy it in bulk. It’s so bright, cheerful, and happy. Life really doesn’t get a whole lot better than something in rainbow-colored yarny goodness. Unless maybe you add in a horse, Pegasus, or unicorn. And maybe a Lisa Frank notebook.

(It could be that I’m just a bit of a girly girl. Or that I’ve regressed to 5th grade.)

If you’d like to make your own version, the pattern is super simple.

Using a fingering weight yarn and size US1 needles, cast on 56 stitches and work in a 2×2 rib for 15 rows. Work stockinette stitch until they are “long enough.” Work the 2×2 rib for another 15 rows and bind off with Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Sewn Bind Off.

Easy as pie.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Legs, take 2

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    Kali! Your baby is just adorable. Love the photos and thanks for the pattern. I’ve got a friend whose 14-month old daughter has the cutest chubby legs and I’d love to make a pair of leg warmers for her (i am told getting her into pants is kind of a challenge 🙂 ) Hugs to little W!

Leave a Reply

