Baby Legs

My friend Lauren had a baby girl about a month ago, and while I was planning to knit her a baby blanket, the fact that it took me two months to complete the last one had me rethinking that idea.  Besides, I don’t have a clue what color would match her nursery.  That’s one of the bad things about moving 14 states away from your friends, you don’t know these things.  A bigger one is that you don’t get to see them or their new babies.

Anyway, I got it into my head that a pair of baby legwarmers would be just the thing, and I churned them out like it was my job.  I designed a simple pattern, picked out the yarn, cast on, and two nights of knitting later had these:

Aren’t those perfect for a little girl?  Especially a little girl named Violet?  It’s one of my absolute favorite names, and one Rob and I had on the list if Wesley had turned out to be a girl.

These were so easy to make.  I used Knit Picks Felici Sport in the retired color Sorcery.  It has been sitting in my stash for about three years.  I absolutely love it, but hate knitting socks, so it had just been waiting for the right project to come along.  It did! Hopefully Lauren and Violet will enjoy them.

Wesley seemed to enjoy modeling them for me.  I liked knitting them enough that I am now working on another pair.  Rainbow anyone?

If you’d like to make a pair of your own, they are incredibly easy to do.  Pick out a sport weight yarn and a pair of circular size 3 needles.  Cast on 44 stitches and join in the round using the magic loop method.  Work in a 2×2 rib for 15 rows, then switch to stockinette stitch.  Work stockinette stitch for 66 rows (or however long you want them to be) then revert to the 2×2 rib.  Cast off using Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Sewn Bind Off. Repeat with legwarmer #2.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

