Wesley’s Baby Blanket

When I was posting about the twin’s blankets the other day, I realized that I had never posted a final post about Wesley’s blanket.  I’m really not certain how I could have overlooked that.  I’ll have to blame it on being incredibly pregnant, miserable, and ready for him to be born.

Of course, since then my time has been a little tight and I haven’t noticed too much of anything that doesn’t have to do with a screaming baby, diapers, laundry, and the dogs.  I didn’t so much fall asleep at the end of each day as pass out from sheer exhaustion.  In the last month I have found, much to my enjoyment, just a little more energy to go around and I’ve been putting it to what I hope is good use.  I have once again started knitting, cooking, and now blogging.

The last post I wrote about Wesley’s blanket is Baby Blanket, half done.  Well, not long after that post I finished it.  It took me eight more days and five more skeins of yarn, but two weeks before Wesley made his appearance, his blanket was finished.

And here he is with it at only two weeks old:

I really do love this blanket.  I think it turned out beautifully, that it is well knit, I don’t think I made any errors or at least not any that I remember or can find, it’s soft, washable, and both pretty and appropriate for a little boy.  However, there are a few things I didn’t know before I had a baby that would change my choice of knitting now.

The first is that little lace holes are perfect finger traps.  This hasn’t really been a problem for us, but he has managed to get his hand tangled a time or two.  Thankfully he has been so happy playing with the blanket it wasn’t a problem.

The second thing is that really useful baby items shouldn’t require an hour to pin out and take most of overnight to dry.  While this can technically go in the washing machine and the dryer, it looks a lot better when I take the time to block it.  Time I don’t tend to have with a little boy.

Oh well, lessons learned.  It’s a great blanket anyway.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wesley’s Baby Blanket

  1. Corinn says:

    I saw this one on your Ravelry andmade it for Harper. I learned holes kind of stink for babies with Logan’s blanket but I just think this one is so sweet. It was definitely my most difficult “easy” pattern. Why I couldn’t seem to count to 6 on the last part is beyond me LOL. Looks great on him!!!

    • Kali says:

      Counting to six repeatedly is HARD! I constantly was losing my place. I think it was out of sheer boredom, though. I absolutely like something with a bit more challenge.

  2. Cheryl Waters says:

    Such a beautiful blanket for such a sweet boy.

Leave a Reply

