Twin Blankets

I’ve been knitting steadily for a few months whenever I found the time, but I had to keep it rather quiet as they were a surprise.  Now that they have been given to my brother and Mollie for their twins, however, I am free to write about the blankets I made.


These were notably my first attempt at designing anything without a pattern.  I started by knitting a basic square, picked up the stitches all around the edges, and increased 2 stitches in each corner to keep the blankets square.  Really, they are very basic.  The fun part that I hope makes them unique and special is this:

and

Both boys had their name “written” on their blanket in lace.  I’m actually incredibly proud of myself for figuring out how to write in knitting.  I designed the letters myself, although I did use the lettering from my past Baby Blanket for Wesley, (which I just realized I never posted a final of) as a jumping off point.

They were both knit out of 1.5 skeins of Miss Babs Yowza!  Kieran’s is in the special colorway Crop Circles, and Luca’s is done in Nell.

I’m working away on a few more things now, and plan to design my own shawl before the end of the year.  It’s a lot of fun to make something I’ve thought up all on my own!

This entry was posted in Family, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twin Blankets

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Wow, Kali! Very impressive, especially with a wee one of your own. I can’t imagine how you found the time to complete two beautiful keepsakes.

    • Kali says:

      Thanks Cheryl! I don’t have a ton of time, which is why they took me four months, but I’m really pleased with them. Hopefully I’ll be able to do more now that Wesley is entertaining himself a bit more.

  2. Absolutely gorgeous! The twins’ names in lace really make those blankets!

  3. Pingback: Wesley’s Hoodie | To Spin A Yarn

Leave a Reply

