And So Are You

I really thought I would be able to blog more often after having a baby.  Apparently, that wasn’t a very realistic assumption.  Most of my waking time for the past 11 weeks has been spent soothing and entertaining a colicy baby.  And trying to get him to take a nap.  He sleeps pretty well at night, but seems to feel he doesn’t really need more than 12 hours of sleep out of 24.  I keep telling him that the doctor says he should be getting at least 16 hours of sleep, but he knows better.

This must be practice for the teenage years, except I imagine then I will be trying to convince him to sleep LESS than 16 hours out of 24.

In the rare moments that Wesley is asleep and I am awake and coherent enough to want to do something beyond sitting like a lump and staring at the wall, I’ve been knitting.  (I’ve also been reading, but this post is about knitting.)  I’ve been working on the And So Are You Shawl.  Mine looks like this:

It’s bigger now.  I’ve gone through all the current color of purple and only have two more shades left to go.  I’m also making some significant modifications to the pattern.

The first is that I’m getting rid of the pleated border.  It’s cute, it’s just not me.  So I’m continuing the little gathered flower stitch all the way to the end.  The second is that I’m going to knit until I run out of yarn, rather than make it the size in the pattern.  I have about 100 extra yards of yarn, so I’m expecting it to be a fair bit longer.

I’m pretty happy with how it’s turning out so far.  I like the pattern, and I like the yarn which is Arial Evolutions from Twisted Fiber Art.  The color is Berry, which is one of the exclusive colors for her yarn club.  She has lots of amazing colors that aren’t a part of her clubs, though.

I’ve been knitting on this shawl since the beginning of January.  I hope I can finish it by the end of March, but at the current pace the end of May might be more reasonable.  I have other things I’d like to work on, but am not expecting to accomplish to many of them this year.  We’ll see, though.

This entry was posted in Family, Knitting, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And So Are You

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Kali, welcome to the world of motherhood! This brings back memories. None of mine ever liked sleeping as babies. And you are probably right, by the time Wesley reaches his teen years, you will be begging him to get out of bed!
    The “And So Are You” shawl is such a lovely pattern. It is one of the ones I hope to do soon.

Leave a Reply

