Tomato Flatbread

I forgot to take pictures of my tomato flatbread while I was making it, but it was yummy enough that I’m sharing the recipe anyway.

I’m not a huge fan of pizza.  In fact, I’m incredibly picky about pizza, mostly because I don’t like the tomato sauce most pizzas use.  I think pizza should be salty and full of garlic, but commercial pizza chains seem to think pizza should be sweet.  This mostly means I don’t eat a lot of it.

When I saw a recipe for flatbread, I really thought about how I could make it so that it was something I would enjoy eating and not end up wasting my time on.  I like a lot of cheese, tomato, salt, and garlic.  Next time I’ll get more adventurous with what I put on the flatbread, but for this first attempt that was enough.

I worked from a number of different recipes, and came up with one I thought worked pretty well.

Tomato Flatbread

pizza dough (I used Pillsbury canned pizza dough)
4 plum tomatoes, sliced
olive oil
salt and pepper
garlic powder
mozzarella cheese
romano cheese
basil
oregano
a sprinkle of flour

1.  Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

2.  On a clean, dry work surface, sprinkle out some flour and gently stretch out your pizza dough into the size and shape you want it to be.  (This apparently works better if you let your pizza dough sit untouched for 5-10 minutes first, a tip I did not learn until after this attempt.)

3.  Place it on your cooking surface, I used a large baking sheet, and pierce the dough a number of times with a fork.  Brush the dough with a little olive oil and place the tomato slices on top.  Brush the tomato slices with olive oil as well, and salt and pepper the tomatoes.  Bake for 15 minutes.

4.  Remove flatbread from oven.  Sprinkle with garlic powder and cover with mozzarella and romano cheese.  Add basil or oregano as desired.  Return to oven and bake for 7 more minutes.

5.  Remove from oven and allow to sit for 3 minutes before slicing.  Serve and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato Flatbread

  1. Sounds delicious and easy, Kali. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

