Sweater for Baby Boy – finished

I finished the sweater I’ve been knitting for baby boy, and I honestly couldn’t be prouder of myself.  It’s a rather sad state of affairs when a simple sweater that took me 10 hours to knit can make me so happy, but I’ve had so little desire to knit for the past 6 months (and still don’t have much if I’m being honest) that finishing such a small and simple project makes me unaccountably happy.

If you can believe it, I am apparently so out of knitting shape that I locked up my left shoulder making this.  I knit over a hundred hours on my Evenstar shawl with little more than a hand cramp, but this little 10 hour sweater made my left shoulder go numb.  Apparently I need to ease back into knitting just a little more slowly.

I knit it out of Sport Weight yarn from Mulberry Fibers.  It’s 75% Superwash Merino Wool and 25% Nylon so it should be good an durable, perfect for a baby.  The colorway is “Mostly Cloudy”.  The pattern called for DK weight yarn, which is just a little heavier than sport weight yarn, but I decided to use a lighter yarn on purpose because it’s really not that cold in Texas.  I wanted a slightly looser and more open knit.

I hope it fits baby boy well.  I’m not sure it won’t be too big.  Or possibly too small.  Or maybe both at once.  I don’t have a lot of experience with babies, and when I was around them I never bothered to take accurate size measurements.  I’m worried this sweater may be too wide and too short, but I suppose he won’t blame me if it is.  I’ll just add another layer underneath and snap a picture while he’s in it.

This entry was posted in Family, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweater for Baby Boy – finished

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Such as sweet sweater. I’m sure it will fit. Even if too big, it will quickly fit. Baby clothes don’t last very long.

Leave a Reply

