Knitting? What Knitting?

I’ve been knitting again.  Barely, but it counts.  I decided a blanket was just too big to jump back in with.  I’ll get to it, but for the moment I needed something small and easy to finish.  So I’ve decided on a hat!  This hat, to be exact.

See how much I have done?  I know, it’s not very impressive.  But it’s more than nothing so I deserve some credit.

I think the only thing keeping me knitting at the moment is those adorable ears at the end of this hat.  It’s really the cutest hat ever in my opinion.  And I can’t wait to put little blue or green bows on it.  Baby Boy Hinkle is going to be one adorable little child.  Or at least he’ll have an adorable hat.

Have I mentioned we found out baby is a he?

I also think that this particular hat shows just how much I love baby, because I happen to dislike knitting cables.  They bug me.  I always think they look a little sloppy, which I’m pretty sure has something to do with the way I knit them.  The last stitch is always too lose, and I have no idea how to fix it.  If anyone out there has any tips, I’ll take them.

I’m knitting the 0-6 month size instead of the newborn size, and can only hope that baby’s head grows a lot in those first few days, or else that I’m way off on gauge.  This hat looks huge, and the thought that it could actually FIT a little boy coming out of me is, well, slightly disturbing.  The more I think about it, the more I think I probably should have done anything but a hat.  That I should never, ever knit another baby hat so long as I live.  Too late now.

I don’t think I’ll be inflicting the reality of baby head sizes on any more of my pregnant friends, though.  From now on babies will be given booties.  No more terrorizing mothers with tiny little hats that look bigger the more you stare at them.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Knitting? What Knitting?

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Kali, do you mean the last stitch when binding off? Instead of threading the yarn through the last stitch, snip the yarn and pull the last loop out. In other words, don’t thread a yarn through the loop but pull on the loop until the tail pulls out and you now don’t have a loop anymore. I’m not explaining this very well. So let me know if you need me to clarify. The last loop just becomes the tail. I found this in one of Lucy Neatby’s DVDs. I’ll have to look at them so I can tell you which one.

    • Kali says:

      The last stitch of each individual cable. So this is a 2×2 cable with a right cross, and the 4th stitch when I cross them is always bigger and looser than the other three. I have no idea why, or what I’m doing wrong. I use your method for binding off. 🙂

  2. Cheryl Waters says:

    Hmmm…… I’ll have to think on that. Maybe blocking will help. But I’m not sure why that fourth stitch is doing that. Maybe it is the way you are pulling the stitches when you cross them and it is pulling yarn from the third stitch. Perhaps when you knit the third stitch, make sure you are giving it its fair share and not pulling to much on the fourth stitch. I’m not sure if that is the problem. Just a guess on my part.

    When is your little one due? My niece is in Austin and is expecting twins. Two boys. Her husband is a twin. She is due in early January, but I suspect they will be here before Christmas. So I plan to have their Christmas stockings down to their names and ready to complete.

    • Kali says:

      We’re due Christmas Eve. I hope that he comes a little early, but will be happy whenever he decides to show up. We have a couple of names we like and are thinking of, but neither of us wants to settle on a name before he’s here in person. We just can’t be sure we’ve picked the right name until he’s here in front of us. He’ll probably get his stocking NEXT year. 🙂

      I think your thoughts on cable tension sound accurate. I don’t feel very adept at them, and might be pulling the first couple stitches too tight and ending up with a lot of extra yarn in the last one. I’ll have to see what I can do about that. Thankfully the brown hides it pretty well. It’s difficult to see individual stitches in this yarn.

  3. Cheryl Waters says:

    Well, if you’ve been to either Cain & Abel’s or Abel’s on the Lake, my niece and her husband own those. I know there is also a diner, but I can’t think of the name of it right now. I know that you and my niece are about the same age. Maybe these little boys could all get to know each other. That would be fun. I could come visit all of them! I love going to Hill Country Weavers.

    • Kali says:

      I haven’t actually heard of them, so I’ll have to look the places up. And while I think Hill Country is OK, I often find them to be rather rude. I don’t know if it’s my yankee accent or what, but I’ve never had a particularly good time there.

  4. Cheryl Waters says:

    Cain & Abel’s is a pub near UT campus.

    No one in retail should be uppity to any customer who walks through their doors. Shame on them. I’m very disappointed. I’ve heard there are now some other LYS. I will have to give them a try. I don’t get to Austin very often anymore. It has certainly grown since we lived there. And going through Bastrop? I can’t believe it. It is almost a suburb. And going north on I35? The last time we tried to do that, we had to get off of I35, which took forever, and take the back roads up to Georgetown.

    If it wouldn’t be so late in your pregnancy, I would suggest you come to Kid ‘n Ewe fiber festival in Boerne, just west of San Antonio. It’s November 11 – 13. I discovered it last year. Jeri Brock lives in Round Rock and does some really cool turkish spindles. I got one from her last year. You might check out the festival on Ravelry. It’s not a huge festival but has a variety of things to look at and purchase.

    • Kali says:

      I’m actually hoping to make it down to Kid n’ Ewe, but we’ll just have to see what happens. I don’t think I can plan too many day trips that late in my pregnancy. On the other hand, I’ll still have 6 (ish) weeks left to go, so maybe it will be OK. I’ll ask my doctor. Certainly bathrooms would be an issue. I don’t like to use the sort they have at the festivals, but it may not be an option at that point.

      Rob and I also live up in Round Rock, so we don’t get down into the city tons. Neither of us is a big fan of cities, and after living in DC for so long, I’m a little citied out. Maybe we’ll go downtown more often once baby boy is born, but maybe not. I do know we’d be more willing to go if there was a better public transportation system.

  5. Cheryl Waters says:

    Well, let me know if you decide to go to Kid ‘n Ewe. I’m not sure exactly what my plans are right now. King won’t be able to go because he is taking a class on Saturdays. One of my sisters may be going as well as a friend from Austin. But I’ll keep you posted.

  6. Cheryl Waters says:

    Absolutely understandable!

  7. Pingback: Sweater for Baby Boy | To Spin A Yarn

  8. Cas says:

    No idea what to say about the knitting problem, but I’m sure he won’t mind if the hat is a bit loose. 🙂 You can layer it if it comes down to it, right? 🙂

    I made that mushroom bourgignon dish again for me and husband the other night–my goodness, it’s delicious. Leftovers the next day were even better. People who say they just couldn’t live without meat for even one day should try this; it’d change anybody’s mind. Be well, sweetie 🙂

Leave a Reply

