Pea and Pancetta Pasta

I have been so busy for the past two weeks that I’ve barely had time to sit still, let alone craft, cook, or come up with something new for my blog.  Meetings, trainings and travel (for work) took up all of last week.  I’m looking at more of the same for the remainder of this week, too.  Despite all that I have something new for you, it just took more time than usual.

Isn’t that pretty?  I love how green and fresh everything looks.  Rob thought I went a little heavy on the peas.  As I just dumped them in and didn’t measure despite my original plan, he’s probably right.  I am pretty sure that using half a cup of peas and half a cup of edamame would create a more balanced dish.  Of course, I was extremely happy with the amount of veggies so it probably just depends on your taste.  Just like everything else.

Start by browning up a bunch of diced pancetta until it has turned slightly crispy.

Add half a cup of frozen peas and half a cup of edamame and saute them in the pancetta fat.  As I said above, I used about a cup of each and thought it was delicious, but Rob thought there were too many peas.

The real secret to this dish is all the cheese.  I combined a small log of creamy goat cheese and a cup of parmesan cheese.  When you add a little of your pasta water, the cheeses melt together in the pasta and form a delicious and creamy sauce.

The sweet peas, salty pancetta, and tangy cheese is a really yummy flavor combination.  I thought putting it all with spinach fettuccine was a nice touch, but I’m willing to bet it would be just as yummy with any type of pasta.

Pea and Pancetta Pasta

2/3 lb your choice of pasta – I used spinach fettuccine
1/4 to 1/3 lb pancetta, diced
1/2 cup frozen, shelled peas
1/2 cup frozen, shelled edamame
1 small log, about 1/2 cup, goat cheese
1 cup grated parmesan
1/4 to 1/2 cup pasta water for sauce
salt and pepper

1.  Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook your pasta according to the directions on the package.  Only cook to al dente.

2.  In a large pan, saute diced pancetta over medium heat until slightly crunchy.  About 5 minutes.  Add frozen peas and edamame.  Saute until warmed through, about 2 minutes.

3.  Add goat cheese to pancetta and peas, breaking up into smaller pieces for easier melting.  Add pasta water as necessary to melt.  Add grated parmesan and drained pasta.

4.  Toss to combine then salt and pepper to taste.  Serve and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pea and Pancetta Pasta

  1. Mom says:

    Robert eats peas????

  2. Cheryl Waters says:

    Cheese often helps! You should remind him you are fixing healthy things for his sweet baby.

Leave a Reply

