Pizza Burgers

I’m sure no one will be surprised that I tried another Giada recipe.  While I do admit a love for Italian food, and that I truly enjoy the things she comes up with, I made these at a request from Rob.

According to Giada they’re supposed to taste a little like pizza.  I suppose I can see it, but I think they taste more like Italy: tomato, basil, garlic, cheese.  It’s a delicious combination no matter how it tastes, and one I recommend trying.

Everything is done in 3 basic steps.  1.  Put all fillers in the blender.

2.  Mix with the hamburger.

3.  Cook.

There’s a little more to it than that, but not really. I pulled this recipe from her show, and didn’t really bother writing anything down, so the measurements for everything are mine.  I’d suggest working out what you think your own perfect mix is and making them your own.

One thing I would do differently in the future is use more hamburger.  I think you really need 2 parts hamburger for 1 part fillers, and mine were really more equal measurements.  They were still plenty good, but I think the flavorings overpowered the hamburger a bit.  I’ll use 2 lbs of meat in my recipe instead of 1, making the adjustment to what I think the recipe should be.

Pizza Burgers

2lbs hamburger
3 cloves garlic
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes
1/4 cup packed fresh basil
2 T tomato paste
1 t salt
1/2 t ground pepper
1/2 t red pepper flakes
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1 cup parmesan

1.  Add sun dried tomatoes and garlic to blender.  Pulse until combined.  Add basil, tomato paste, salt, pepper, and red pepper.  Pulse until combined.  Add mozzarella and parmesan.  Pulse until combined.

2.  Combine mixture from blender and hamburger in a large bowl.  Shape into hamburger patties.

3.  Cook as desired.  I used a skillet, but you could easily grill them, bake them, etc.  Enjoy.

 

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

