Paris Mushroom Soup

I didn’t quite know what to expect when I decided to make this soup.  My entire experience with mushroom soups tend towards the creamy variety that’s thick like clam chowder instead of light like most vegetable soups.  This one is light and fresh, and completely delicious.

It’s a basic mushroom and onion puree topped with thinly sliced raw mushrooms.  The hot soup very slightly cooks the raw mushrooms, and the combination is very unique.  I had two bowls and would have eaten a third if I had any room left in my stomach.

I think the next time I cook this soup, I’ll make a few changes.  I’d cut back on the onion a bit, and include multiple kinds of mushrooms.  The recipe only calls for button mushrooms, but I think adding cremini might make it a little more complex.

You can blend this soup in a blender, but I just used my kitchen wand and it turned out wonderfully.  If you want a smoother soup, use the blender and then put it through a strainer.  That really wasn’t a big deal for me, and I decided not to waste the time.

The soup, however, is not.

Paris Mushroom Soup
as adapted from around my french table by Dorie Greenspan

2 T butter
1 1/2 large onions, coarsely chopped
3 large garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
salt and freshly ground pepper
1 1/2 lbs button mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
1/3 cup dry white wine (I omitted this because I only have sweet white wines)
2 parsley sprigs
1 rosemary sprig
6 cups chicken broth

1.  Melt the butter in a large soup pot over low heat.  Add the onions and season with salt and pepper.  Cook until soft, about 5 minutes.

2.  Add the mushrooms and raise the heat to medium.  Cook until the mushrooms release their liquid, about 3 minutes.  Increase heat to high and cook until most of the liquid evaporates.  Pour in the wine (if using) and boil until that evaporates, too.

3.  Add the herbs and the chicken broth to the pot and bring to a boil.  Lower heat and cover, allowing soup to simmer for 20 minutes.  (Remove the rosemary stem if you remember to, I didn’t.  It will have lost it’s leaves.)

4.  Using your kitchen wand (immersion blender), puree the soup until smooth.  Keep the soup very hot, but not boiling.

5.  Ladle soup into bowls and add mushrooms on top.  Scallions, creme fraiche, and chives all make other good additions to the topping.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paris Mushroom Soup

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Ooh, that sounds yummy. One of my favorites is chicken broth with mushrooms, fresh spinach leaves and cheese ravioli.

    • Kali says:

      If you don’t mind providing a slightly more complete recipe, I would LOVE to try that. It sounds fabulous and I’m in a soup mood this month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

