An Update

Well, it’s been 10 days since I posted my last blog.  You would think that I have something new to contribute at this point, but I am sadly lacking.

And yet it’s a completely valid question what I’ve been doing with my time?  I’ve posted barely any knitting for the past couple of months, no spinning, and even the recipes have started to taper off.  Surely I’m working on SOMETHING here… something that’s taking up my time and energy.

I am.  I am working on a baby.  My first baby.  Rob’s first baby.  Our first baby.  It’s amazing how something that is smaller than a peanut (alright, so at this point baby might be the size of a Kiwi) can suck all the energy right out of a person.  Creative energy and otherwise.  Some days it’s exhausting to force myself off the couch just to go to bed.  At 8:00.

I haven’t even picked up my knitting needles in months.  How’s that for tired?

The good news is that I’m through the first trimester and I *SHOULD* be getting more of my old pep back.  I’m starting to actually want to knit again, and am thinking about what I might like to make for little baby monster.  A white waffle pattern baby blanket is topping my list at the moment, but there’s a pretty significant part of me that thinks Texas is too warm for that sort of thing.  Maybe not, as baby monster is due in December, though.

In time the blog will be back to “normal,” full of projects for me to share and notes on how I created or changed them.  But I think in the long run, the blog will have to find a new normal as I adjust to life with baby.  Difficult or easy, I think that will be a pretty wonderful adjustment to make.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An Update

  1. Shannon says:

    We can’t wait to meet the little Baby Monster – hee hee – that name sounds like it’s a Lady Gaga fan! 🙂

    • Kali says:

      Lady Gaga or possibly Avenue Q. (Kate Monster, Baby Monster…) Really, baby monster is named such because he (she?) has been a little pest sometimes. 🙂

  2. Cheryl Waters says:

    Oh, Kali, I am tickled pink, or maybe blue, for you! Your life has just changed forever, but in such a special way. Congratulations to all! It’s not easy going through a pregnancy in a hot Texas summer. I think this is even hotter than with my first pregnancy (1980). Best of luck!

    • Kali says:

      Thanks Cheryl! I have a feeling it’s going to be hard to adjust to a Texas summer in any case, but being pregnant doesn’t seem to help. One thing I’m learning… I need a pair of shorts! I don’t even own a pair. Shopping is on my to do list this weekend. 🙂

  3. AlohaBlu says:

    OMG! Congratulations Kali and Rob!! How wonderful for you guys – so exciting 🙂 Ha ha ha – baby monster! You’ll have to keep us posted on your pregnancy and let us know what you’re having (if you choose to know beforehand!). All the best to you and yes, go shopping!!!

    • Kali says:

      Thank you so much! I’ll be sure to post something pregnancy related every so often, and am sure baby knitting will start soon, too.

  4. Jodi Meadows says:

    Wow wow, congratulations!! You must be so thrilled.

    Time to pick up those needles again. You don’t want your baby to be nekkid, do you???

    • Kali says:

      Thank you. We are so incredibly happy, it’s just wonderful. I’m still trying to figure out what to make, but I’m sure I’ll start again soon.

Leave a Reply

