Tomato Rice

Well, I was planning to make stuffed tomatoes again, but I pierced through the outside of the second one I was coring.  As that made stuffed tomatoes pretty much a bust, I changed plans.  Tomato rice sounded fabulous.  Lots of sweet and salty tomatoes mixed with filling rice… perfect comfort food.

Rob an I ate this as our entire meal, but I think it would make a wonderful side dish as well.  It also has the advantage of being incredibly easy.

yeah, it pretty much looks the same in the pot or the bowl...

Had I been less exhausted, I probably would have added more vegetables to the mix.  Broccoli, zucchini, asparagus, perhaps a touch of lemon juice.  But I didn’t.  It’s just tomatoes, rice, and salt.  I didn’t even add garlic.  Tomatoes are a great base for a number of flavors, though, so mix and match to your hearts content.  Tell me how it turns out!

Tomato Rice

1 cup Arborio rice
3 cups chicken broth
2 large tomatoes (or 6-8 plum tomatoes) diced
olive oil
salt and pepper to taste (I don’t care much for pepper, so using none is to taste)

1.  Bring 3 cups of chicken broth to a boil and add rice.  Reduce to a simmer and cook uncovered until broth is gone and rice is al dente, roughly 15 minutes.

2.  In a large pan, heat olive oil over medium high heat and add tomatoes.  Saute until soft and beginning to lose their shape, about 8 minutes.  Salt to taste.

3.  Add rice to tomatoes and combine.  (You can use as much or as little rice as desired.)  Serve.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

