Frittata!!!

I made my first fritatta, and it was delicious!  Bacon, onion, mushroom, and spinach.  Yum!  It was also much easier than I thought it would be.  I had a little trouble with the flipping, but with a good bacon-greased non-stick pan, it was fun.

Bacon, Mushroom, Onion, and Spinach Fritatta

The combination of salty bacon and sweet onions was fabulous, and I’m always happy to add mushrooms or spinach to something.  I think they all worked really well together as tastes and textures, but of course the fun of cooking is adding your own ingredients.

Next time I might do chicken, tomatoes, and zucchini.  Does that sound good?  Or maybe beef and brussels sprouts.  I might have found a new favorite dish.  And carb free is always a winner.

Bacon, Mushrooms, Onion, and Spinach sauteeing

The key was really a great nonstick pan.  I even bought a cheep one from Bed Bath & Beyond.  It was super slippery already, and the addition of bacon grease only made it a better frittata surface.  Flipping was relatively easy.

After adding the egg

Flipped! (Missing a piece that fell off)

So here’s how I did it:

Bacon, Mushroom, Onion, and Spinach Frittata

6 eggs, beat well
1/3 pack of bacon, roughly chopped
1 onion, roughly chopped
1 pack mushrooms, sliced
1 bag baby spinach
salt and pepper to taste

1.  Heat pan over medium heat and begin cooking bacon.  Roughly 10 minutes, or until beginning to sear a bit.  (It won’t get crispy if it’s crowded.  I didn’t crisp it, but if you want to, now’s the time to do that.)

2.  Add onions and mushrooms.  Cook until onions are translucent, about 5 minutes.  Add spinach and cook until wilted.

3.  Reduce heat to medium low.  When pan has cooled a bit, add egg and shake lightly to spread egg around other ingredients. Cook over low heat until a bit beyond half way cooked.  Make sure to run a rubber spatula gently around the edge of the pan while cooking to ensure egg does not stick.  10 minutes is a good estimate for cooking time, but watch closely to make sure it doesn’t burn.

4.  CAREFULLY slide half-cooked frittata onto a large plate.  Invert pan over plate, and flip both over at the same time, transferring the frittata back to the pan.

5.  Continue to cook over medium low heat until frittata is fully set.  5-8 minutes.  Check to see if the egg is still runny in the middle to decide if it needs more time.

6.  Transfer to a plate (I know… again!), cut and serve.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frittata!!!

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Yummmm….. makes my mouth water for one of my husband’s delicious omelettes. I think I will put in an order with him right away!

  2. Jon says:

    I also purchased a nonstick pan from BB&B, but no so cheap. However, I absolutely love it. It is a 12 inch Cephalon hard anodized omelet pan. With a little practice, you can learn to flip a nice skillet-load of food.
    My favorite is to chop up 3 pieces of bacon and cook them until they are about 2/3rds done. Then, I add chopped onion and stir it until the onions become translucent, and then I add 3 or 4 sliced mushrooms and continue to saute until everything is almost done. Then, add 3 beaten eggs and swirl around to coat everything.

    Cook it until it is almost congealed on top and then flip it. (be brave!)
    Finish it, add some shredded cheese and as soon as it melts, fold the egg over it and slide it onto a plate.

    Like you said, you can’t go wrong with bacon, onions and mushrooms.

    • Kali says:

      Sounds delicious, Dad. I think ours was a $60 eco friendly skillet. It’s a bit pathetic that we bought it 6 days ago and I can’t remember. The brand wasn’t too important, I suppose. It was the right size, shape, and non-stick.

      I’ve never had success with omelets. I end up making scrambled eggs with stuff in them. They taste the same, but don’t look as pretty.

Leave a Reply

