The Best BBQ sauce

I’m not a huge barbecue person.  I think it’s good, but hardly the best thing I’ve ever tasted.  Rob’s a fan, though, and I do happen to enjoy the sauce my mother makes.  Lots of people thing barbecue is all about the meat, and lots of people think barbecue is all about the sauce.  I think it’s about both, and this is the sauce I like.

Unfortunately, sauce is pretty difficult to take a picture of… so here it is in the pot.  Not the best photograph ever, but it doesn’t change the taste of the sauce.  It’s nice and tangy with just a little bit of sweet and a little bit of spice.

Barbecue Sauce
1/3 cup onion, chopped
1/4 cup margarine
1 cup catsup
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup vinegar
1/4 t salt
2 T worchestershire sauce
3 t brown sugar
1 t mustard

1.  Heat medium saucepan over medium heat.  Melt butter then add onion and saute until translucent – about 5 minutes.

2.  Add all other ingredients and reduce heat to low.  Mix well and simmer until heated through.  Use immediately or store and freeze.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best BBQ sauce

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    That sounds yummy! I totally agree that BBQ is about both the meat and the sauce. I’ll definitely give your sauce a try.

Leave a Reply

