Shorehouse Chicken

This is the most amazing chicken I have ever eaten or cooked.  It’s been a favorite of mine, my brother’s, and my sister’s ever since we were children and we ate it that very first time at the shore house.  It’s technically a teriyaki marinade, but to my family it will forever be shorehouse chicken.

I know teriyaki chicken sounds terribly normal… as if you can’t make decent teriyaki chicken with a marinade from a bottle.  It’s true, you can, but this is a thousand times better.  It takes less than ten minutes to put the marinade together and can sit in the fridge for up to 2 days looking just like this.

Not only was this my first time cooking Shorehouse Chicken, but it was Rob’s first time grilling.  If you’d like to make it exactly like we did, add some cherry wood chips to the charcoal grill.  There was an interesting extra sweet and smoky note to the chicken that I’m pretty sure was from the cherry chips.  But wood chips or no wood chips, you have to try this chicken.  You won’t be disappointed.

Shorehouse Chicken

1 lb boneless skinless chicken tenders
1/2 c soy sauce
1/3 c vegetable oil
2 T corn syrup
2 T white vinegar (other kinds may be substituted)
2 cloves smashed garlic
1 t ground ginger
1 t dry mustard
1 gallon sized Ziploc bag

1.  Add chicken and all other ingredients to Ziploc bag and shake well to combine.  Refrigerate 12-48 hours before use.

2.  Cook on a charcoal grill over hot charcoal for 4-5 minutes per side.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shorehouse Chicken

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    How nice and simple. It sounds yummy.

  2. Jon says:

    OK, so I made the Shorehouse Chicken. I have to say, it was pretty tasty. I didn’t have any cherry, and had to use pecan & hickory for the smoke wood. Judy thought it might be a little much. I’m not sure how it could be too smokey, but that’s me. I mis-remembered the cook times and rolled the tenders too soon, and then tried to make up by running them a little too long on the other side. I managed to overdo them by about a minute (maybe 2) and they had started to dry out. Still, I’d try it again. All in all, a winner for sure.

  3. I remember the name, but for the life of me, I cannot remember the dish. Every once in a while, I’ll cook chicken in a pan and just douse it with soy-sauce, but I never have the desire to marinade anything.

    • Kali says:

      I promise if you try this one you will absolutely remember it, and will marinade all your chicken in the future. It is so delicious!

Leave a Reply

