Reading List 2011

I think my reading capacity is going to continue to be closer to a book a week than two books a week, which doesn’t bode well for my goal of reading 100 books this year, but I suppose the goal isn’t all that important.  It’s just for fun.  It was a romance filled month for me, apparently.  After reading the 1000 page Patrick Rothfuss book (which is so amazing, I couldn’t recommend this series more), I just wasn’t in the mood for books that would be equally heavy.  Light and fluffy romance novels carried me through the rest of March, and it was a fun way to pass some time. 

Actually, maybe I should count Wise Man’s Fear as two books, considering it was more than double the length of the others I read.  Still, it was only one book.  I’ll be working my way through a couple more monsters in the next few months.  George R. R. Martin is releasing his 5th book in his Song of Ice and Fire series thus July – A Dance With Dragons.  Clearly I’ll have to reread the other four before Dance comes out.  That’s easily 3000 pages of reading.  He does not seem to believe in being brief.  Still, they’re wonderful books and I’m looking forward to them.  Maybe I’ll start doing a book review or two each month on those books or series I’m absolutely in love with.  Anyway, here’s what I read this month:

March
25.  The Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss – highly recommended
26.  Shanna, Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
27.  To Ride A Dark Horse, Laura Moore
28.  Mine Til Midnight, Lisa Kleypas (audiobook)
29.  No Choice but Seduction, Johanna Lindsey
30.  Pegasus, Robin McKinley (I haven’t yet finished this book yet, but so far I’m loving it)

February
20. Lean, Mean Thirteen, Janet Evanovich (audiobook)
21. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss – strongly recommended
22. Dragonflight, Anne McCaffrey (audiobook)
23. Dragonquest, Anne McCaffrey (audiobook)
24. Dragonsong, Anne McCaffrey (audiobook)

January
1. What to Expect when You’re Expecting, Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel
(for the record, I’m not expecting.  A friend gave me this and it’s interesting.)
2. Eragon, Christopher Paolini (audio book)
3.  Soulless, Gail Carrington – strongly recommended
4. Changeless, Gail Carrington – strongly recommended
5. Blameless, Gail Carrington – strongly recommended
6. Twin: A Memoir, Allen Shawn
7. Green Rider, Kristen Britain -strongly recommended
8. First Rider’s Call, Kristen Britain – strongly recommended
9. The High King’s Tomb, Kristen Britain – strongly recommended
10. Eldest, Christopher Paolini (audiobook)
11. Alanna, Tamora Pierce
12. In the Hands of the Goddess, Tamora Pierce
13. The Woman Who Rides Like a Man, Tamora Pierce
14. Lioness Rampant, Tamora Pierce
15. Brisingr, Christopher Paolini (audiobook)
16. Sea Swept, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended
17. Rising Tides, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended
18. Inner Harbor, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended
19. Chesapeake Blue, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended

This entry was posted in Reading List 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading List 2011

  1. Tara says:

    i am so excited for dance with dragons!

  2. Cheryl Waters says:

    Well, we can certainly tell when you started your new job. I’m glad to hear that audio books count. And I’m so glad more and more books are being offered in audio format.

Leave a Reply

