Marinated Beef

This is a great marinade, and you can use it on any cut of beef.  I happened to marinade a rump roast this time, but I most commonly use it on London Broil.  It’s a tangy, spicy, garlicy marinade that just soaks the meat in flavor.

It doesn’t really matter how you cook the beef, but I suggest medium rare.  It’s a good natural complement in texture, temperature, and taste to the marinade.

So here’s what it takes:

Beef Marinade

Soy Sauce
Worchestershire Sauce
3 to 6 cloves of garlic, smashed
olive oil
salt and pepper

1.  Take a large ziploc bag and toss your meat into it.

2.  Pour in a roughly equal amount of soy sauce and worchestershire sauce (more or less depending on the amount of meat… just use your judgement).

3.  Pour in 1 to 2 tablespoons of olive oil.

4.  Add smashed cloves of garlic, salt and pepper – whatever amount looks “right”.

5.  Seal bag and shake well.  Once all ingredients are well combined, compress air out of the bag and seal again.  Let sit 12-36 hours in refrigerator before cooking.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marinated Beef

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Yum! I’ll be right over!

    • tospinayarn says:

      Thanks Cheryl. It is delicious! What’s your Ravelry name? I’m SunshineKali.

      • Cheryl Waters says:

        cherylbwaters I’m not very active over there. As it is I spend too much time over in KP. But I am helping in the Mitts of Steal group over there. Kutoa [on Ravelry and angelkarhu on KP] has started this group to help make fingerless mitts for dialysis patients. Steal syndrome is where blood flow is restricted to the hands during dialysis. Therefore hands can get very cold. Fingerless mitts will help patients keep their hands warm and still be able to do other things while having to sit for hours. If interested, you might want to check it out on Ravlery: http://www.ravelry.com/groups/mitts-of-steal

        Hope the new job is going well and that your schedule is allowing you writing time and knitting/spinning time when possible.

      • tospinayarn says:

        I don’t get tons of it, that’s why I haven’t put up a spinning or knitting post for a while. I’m making progress, though. 🙂 And I will certainly check out your group.

  2. AlohaBlu says:

    OMG – this looks amazing! And the recipe is so simple – I get so hungry every time I look at your photos. Do you cook at 350 degrees?

    • tospinayarn says:

      Haha, that’s great. Usually by the time I’ve posted photos I’ve eaten enough that I’m not interested in food anymore.

      For the roast I cooked it at 450 for about 25 minutes, but it really depends on the cut of meat. I broil anything thin (london broil, steaks, etc) and bake things that are thick like this. Most often I cook roasts in my slow cooker, but I’ve never tried that with this marinade… maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

