Reading List 2011

I fell down a bit this month.  I didn’t feel much like reading the first week of February, expecting to have all the free time in the world.  Then I got my job and that didn’t happen.  I’ll have to push pretty hard to keep to my 100 book goal for this year.  Thankfully, audiobooks help.  I can “read” them while I commute to and from work and while I do other things, such as knit, spin, or cook.

I need to read roughly 8 books a month (2 books a week) to keep on my schedule.  Even though I’m behind for February, my stellar reading in January has kept me ahead of the curve.  Maybe I can still make this work after all.

February
20. Lean, Mean Thirteen, Janet Evanovich (audiobook)
21. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss – strongly recommended
22. Dragonflight, Anne McCaffrey (audiobook)
23. Dragonquest, Anne McCaffrey (audiobook)
24. Dragonsong, Anne McCaffrey (audiobook)

January
1. What to Expect when You’re Expecting, Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel
(for the record, I’m not expecting.  A friend gave me this and it’s interesting.)
2. Eragon, Christopher Paolini (audio book)
3.  Soulless, Gail Carrington – strongly recommended
4. Changeless, Gail Carrington – strongly recommended
5. Blameless, Gail Carrington – strongly recommended
6. Twin: A Memoir, Allen Shawn
7. Green Rider, Kristen Britain -strongly recommended
8. First Rider’s Call, Kristen Britain – strongly recommended
9. The High King’s Tomb, Kristen Britain – strongly recommended
10. Eldest, Christopher Paolini (audiobook)
11. Alanna, Tamora Pierce
12. In the Hands of the Goddess, Tamora Pierce
13. The Woman Who Rides Like a Man, Tamora Pierce
14. Lioness Rampant, Tamora Pierce
15. Brisingr, Christopher Paolini (audiobook)
16. Sea Swept, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended
17. Rising Tides, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended
18. Inner Harbor, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended
19. Chesapeake Blue, Nora Roberts (audiobook) – recommended

This entry was posted in Reading List 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading List 2011

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Wow! That is an amazing goal and you have certainly made a good start! For me, audio books is the only way to go. In 1999 I had shingles in one of my eyes so my binge reading days were over. I used to hide in my room and read two to three books a weekend. Being able to listen to books and do other things such as cook, knit, spin, and the dreaded housework, has made it so I didn’t have to give up reading. And the number of audio books is so much better than when I first started listening. Back then most audio books were abridged. There were only cassette tapes. I would listen to them over and over again until the tapes were worn out. I went through numerous tape recorders.
    Today it is so nice having so many audio books to choose from and most are now unabridged. I use Audible and having the Audible app makes it so easy to download and listen.
    Best of luck in achieving your goal!

    • tospinayarn says:

      I *LOVE* to read as well. I used to easily read from the time I woke up until I went to bed. I still desperately want to read like that, and sometimes can’t stop myself, but my eyes get incredibly tired and sore if I try anymore. I find it really frustrating because I’m just a tiny bit far sighted, my real problem is astigmatism – my eyes don’t focus correctly. It seems glasses can sometimes help, but other times they make it worse. If only I had some consistency in my vision!

Leave a Reply

