Fridge Surfing

Usually I’m pretty good about having a plan for what I’m going to cook each night.  Sometimes I’m even pretty good about planning what I’m going to cook for the week.  Occasionally however (and here you should probably read “more often than I’d like to admit”) I drop the ball and and up completely at a loss over what I should cook for dinner.

I’d been working again for three days when I made this meal, and all three of those nights were planless.  It’s not an encouraging trend.

But at least this meal came out tasty, on the healthier side, and wasn’t brought into our home as either delivery or take out.  There’s only so much Chinese food a person can consume before never wanting to see Cashew Chicken ever again.

This is my only picture, by the way.  I fell down on the picture taking, but in my defense I was a little busy making up dinner as I went.  I didn’t even think about blogging the recipe until the food was served and smelling wonderful.

So here’s what I scrounged out of the fridge:

Veggie Sausage Medly

1 lb Sweet Italian Sausage, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 onion, chopped
1 lb Brussels Sprouts, de-stemmed and cut into quarters
1 lb Button Mushrooms, sliced
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

1.  Heat olive oil in a large saute pan over medium high heat and add onions.  Allow to cook for roughly 1-2 minutes.

2.  Add sausage to pan and lower heat to medium or medium low.  Allow to cook until thoroughly browned on the outside, roughly 20 minutes.

3.  Add Brussels Sprouts and mushrooms to pan.  Cook until sprouts are tender, mushrooms are soft, and the sausage is cooked through, about 10 minutes.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fridge Surfing

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    It sounds like you are adjusting to working and learning to open the fridge and start throwing the first things you see into a pan. Congratulations!

    • tospinayarn says:

      Well, I’ve worked before, and got home much later than I do now. I’ve just been unemployed for a while, so meals became much more planned. I thought ahead today, though! I have chicken thawing in the fridge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

