A Change of Plans

Well, it looks like my plans and goals for this year need to change.  Tomorrow is my first day at my new job.  It’s wonderful to have a job again, but it means that many of the goals I listed for myself at the beginning of the year are no longer likely to happen.

Spending 4 hours a day on writing, for instance, doesn’t seem terribly possible with a full time job.  I like my time spent with Rob, knitting, spinning, cooking, or even sleeping far too much to devote 4 of my 5 non-working hours to spend them writing 5 days a week.  I need a little more diversity than that!

Similarly, my ability to finish my first book, start on my second, and read 100 books this year suddenly look incredibly difficult.  With all the free time in the world, they were easy to imagine accomplishing.  As of next week…?  Not so much.

And that’s fine.  Things will still get done.  Just not in the volume or time frame I was planning on.

But, as I have less time, this blog will necessarily decline as well.  I’m hoping that I can continue to post twice a week.  Maybe some weeks I’ll get lucky and be able to do more, but twice a week is my new goal.

Here’s hoping I can find a way to accomplish all in a third of the time.  🙂

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Change of Plans

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    Kali, I just found your blog yesterday when Christina a/k/a AlohaBlu mentioned it in a comment in the Knit Picks Spin Along. I obviously have some catching up to do on it and I’ve gotten through to see your wonderful prologue to your book. You are certainly making some sacrifices in your writing by going back to work. I want to relay a story to you.
    We have a wonderful indy book store here in Houston: Murder by the Book. They have authors in for book signings and to discuss their latest book. We were lucky on more than one occasion to be able to hear Stephen J Cannell. My earliest memories of him was watching him fling a piece of paper out of his typewriter on one of his many TV series. He was asked, as most of these authors are asked, “How did you get started writing?” His answer was simple. In high school his teachers didn’t think much of him as a student, especially in English. He struggled with dyslexia. Then in a college course, one professor saw potential in his writing skills. So he decided to pursue his writing. He worked for his dad during the day and came home to write 4 hours a day. His wife encouraged him to do so. He did this for several years. Then in the 70s there was a writers strike in Hollywood. He and several other young writers were given a chance to come up with a script. They were called in on either a Thursday or Friday and told they would have to have a script by Monday morning. Well, Mr. Cannell had disciplined himself to knock out the work everyday. He was the only one who turned in a script that following Monday. And that was history. He became one of the most popular TV producers in Hollywood. Then in 2000 he turned to writing mystery novels.
    My point to this long story is, even though you may feel you won’t have the time to devote 4 hours a day to writing, I suggest you do spend sometime everyday writing. You seem to have a passion for it.
    I’m so glad Christina mentioned your blog.
    Cheryl

  2. Cas says:

    I hope you manage to carve a bit of time for writing 🙂 I know you love it. But either way, good luck at the new job!

  3. Jodi Meadows says:

    Congratulations on your new job! I’m sure you’ll find time to fit in everything you want to do; it will just take some getting used to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

