Evenstar Shawl – finished at last

This shawl is my biggest knitting accomplishment to date.  I’m frankly not certain I’ll ever top it.  Even if I do another beautiful, complex, and well-knit lace shawl, I’ve already done them before.  It’s nothing new.  Certainly, each piece is beautiful and unique in and of itself, but this is the piece I did first.

I learned a lot of new skills working on this shawl.  I’d never undertaken such a large lace project before, or such a complicated one.  When broken down stitch by stitch, it wasn’t too hard – some stitches were easy, and some stitches were difficult, but only worrying about one stitch at a time made it simpler.  Every time I stepped back and looked at the whole, it was very daunting though.  To me it felt like running a marathon (not that I’ve ever run one) by only focusing on the next step you take.  It’s much easier to contemplate one more step than thousands more.  One more yard as opposed to 25 more miles.

 

This is a queen sized bed, btw. The shawl easily spans the width of it.

 

Now for some stats:
Evenstar is a little over 5 feet in diameter, which means it’s roughly as wide as I am tall.
I knit about 100,000 stitches on this shawl.
Despite knitting so many stitches, there are only 13 different types of stitches, and all of those are based on only two main stitches – knit and purl.
Of those, only 3 stitches were completely new to me.
I used 1300 yards of lace-weight yarn to make this shawl.
That was 20 yards less than 3 full balls of the yarn I chose.
I could have added 5000 beads to this shawl, but thought the weight would be too much.  In my mind shawls should be light and airy.
There are 3 mistakes in it, but if you can’t see them I’m not about to point them out.
I think 3 mistakes out of 100,000 stitches is pretty darn good.
I started it on August 13th and finished on February 13th.  It took me exactly 6 months from start to finish.
I only actually knit on it for 4.5 weeks out of those 6 months.  I know this because I kept  detailed notes.
I learned that lace is much harder to knit when you use dark yarn!

I really couldn’t be happier with the way this shawl ended up looking.  I think it’s absolutely beautiful and as close to perfect as I could hope for.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Evenstar Shawl – finished at last

  1. Tara says:

    holy moly! this is absolutely extraordinary. gorgeous work!

  2. Corinn says:

    Kali- it really is gorgeous. I love that you know the three mistakes. I always call them my calling cards and write down the mistake in my notes. I sometimes do repeat blankets so its funny to remember. Really gorgeous.

  3. AlohaBlu says:

    It’s beautiful! Congrats on finishing this wonderful shawl – quite an accomplishment for sure and the yarn color is beautiful.

    • tospinayarn says:

      Thanks! This is actually my favorite color from KnitPicks, or at least one of them. I love how beautiful and complex it is, it’s dark black/blue with hints of green and turquoise in it. I wish they’d make more yarn lines in this color.

  4. Jodi Meadows says:

    WOW WOW WOW. That is amazing and gorgeous! Great work!

  5. Cas says:

    How very beautiful!

  6. Camilla says:

    Your shawl is so beautiful…it takes my breath away..
    About mistakes…This always makes me humbled and seem to feel all is right in the world..(kinda) lol
    A little tidbit from the Amish people. Having the opportunity to live near them in my vast travels…they always say..with a wry smile and a half wink…we always put at least one mistake in each of our quilts, doilies, any artwork…cause No one is perfect except God!
    Thank you for sharing such an amazing work of art.
    Camilla
    new to KP

    • tospinayarn says:

      Thank you very much. I don’t mind mistakes, I think they give a piece character. I noted that they were there as much for me to remember as for everyone else to know. I think 3 mistakes is as close to perfect as I’m going to get. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Surprise Update | To Spin A Yarn

Leave a Reply

