Spinning – Flowerbox

I’m a part of a fiber club.  This actually caused a bit of confusion the other day as many people thought I meant dietary fiber.  As funny and embarrassing as that was, I meant spinning fiber. The club is NoTwoSnowflakes 3-month spinning club.

The first month’s roving, a lovely blend of Merino, Cashmere, and Nylon (80/10/10), started life like this:

It’s so soft and fluffy, and feels just absolutely wonderful. I want to rub it against my face all day long.  As that’s probably not good for my sanity or my social life, I’m instead turning it into this:

I’ve got a way to go before I’m done, but while I’m spinning it up, maybe I can sneak in a face rub or two.

This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinning – Flowerbox

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    NICE! that’s coming out so pretty! i love the colors. are you going to try to match colors like you did the last time? i am also in a fiber club and got my first month of a 4-month fiber club and started spinning today. i am hoping to do what you did by splitting the roving in half length-wise, spinning a single from each half and then plying in the hopes the colors match. thanks for the inspiration!

    • tospinayarn says:

      I didn’t split this rope in half, so I don’t really know how I’m going to ply it yet. I’m thinking of chain plying it so the colors are more solid, but I might just ply two vaguely-related bobbins together and get a crazy barber pole effect. I really don’t know what to do! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

