Kale Chips

As asked, I made some Kale Chips and can now share my experiences.

I saw them on Giada, and then again on the Smitten Kitchen blog.  They both described them as light, crisp, salty bites of veggie heaven.  Or something like that, I took some poetic license there.  Suffice to say, both raved.

As I’ve recently developed a fondness for Kale, I thought they would be the perfect thing to try.  And as they aren’t sold in stores, this mean I had to make my own.

It was actually pretty fun trying to figure these out.  I do have to admit, I over-salted them.  Badly.  Giada said not to be shy with the salt, but in hindsight I probably should have used a little common sense with it.  Live and learn, right?

The basic premise, and you’ll see this in the recipe, is to bake oil- and salt-coated leaves of kale in the oven until they’re dry.  Both Giada and Smitten Kitchen mentioned to only put down a single layer of leaves, and Giada went so far as to explain why – a single layer of leaves will dry out whereas a double layer will hold the moisture in and steam itself.

I was pretty good about making a single layer of pre-cooked Kale leaves (as you can see in the photo above), but I wasn’t perfect.  As you can also see in the above photo, there are some places where the Kale overlaps.  In these places, the Kale came out of the oven not crispy and light, but chewy and steamed.  I can’t say I was entirely surprised, but I tend to need to make my own mistakes.

Still, most of them came out nice and crispy.  And the ones that weren’t saturated with salt were incredibly tasty!

Kale Chips

Kale, thoroughly washed and chopped into chip-sized pieces
olive oil
salt and pepper

1.  Drizzle enough olive oil over the kale to thoroughly coat, about 3 Tablespoons for a head of Kale.  Salt and pepper to taste, and toss Kale to coat each piece.

2.  Place Kale on a baking sheet and bake at 300 for 12-15 minutes until leaves are dry and crispy.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

