Italian Wedding Soup

I haven’t been blogging this week.  I’ve been knitting.  I’ve even felt a little guilty for not posting anything new, but that’s because I don’t have anything new!  I’m still working on my Evanstar Shawl, and it is maddeningly slow.  If you’re interested, I’m just finishing up the pointed bits on the largest of the concentric circles.  I’m getting closer to done, but it’s still a ways off yet.

But this post is about soup.  I love soup when it’s cold outside, and when I made this it was very cold.

I have some really wonderful memories of Italian Wedding Soup (or Escarole Soup or what my brother and I called Meatball Soup) from when I was a child.  My Mommom used to make it, I have no idea how often, and I loved it.  She died when I was seven, and in the way of children, I forgot how much I enjoyed this soup because it was no longer something we ate.

A few years ago my Mom made it for some holiday meal, and all the memories I had of loving this soup, eating it at my Grandmother’s house, and the fun I used to have there came flooding back to me.

I’ve made it a few times now, and I always smile when I make it.  This time I made some adjustments to the Giada recipe I follow, some that I recommend and some that I don’t.

I wanted it to be a little heavier on the vegetables, so I added twice as much escarole as her recipe called for (recommended).  I also added mushrooms as I had some sitting in the fridge (not recommended).  They didn’t add anything to the flavor or texture, so they were just a little superfluous.  I think next time I’ll try adding carrot shavings to either the soup or the meatballs.

I’m afraid I don’t have many pictures of the making of this soup.  Mostly because I didn’t think to blog about this recipe until I was at the boiling stage, but even if I had thought about it, rolling the meatballs is too messy to use a camera at the same time.

Italian Wedding Soup
adapted from a Giada recipe

Soup:
10 cups chicken broth of your choice
1-2 lbs fresh escarole, washed and chopped
2 large eggs
2/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste
Meatballs – recipe below

Bring the broth to a boil in a large pot over medium-high heat, then reduce to a simmer.  Add meatballs (recipe below) and escarole, simmer for 10 mins or until meatballs are cooked through.

In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs and cheese.  Add it to the soup slowly, stirring with a fork to form thin strands of egg (I have never been able to get this to look like the picture).

Season the soup with salt and pepper and serve.

Meatballs:
1 small onion, grated
1/3 cup fresh parsley, finely chopped
1 egg
4 cloves garlic, minced
salt and pepper
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
1/3 cup Italian style bread crumbs
1/2 lb ground beef, the leanest you can find (I use 4% fat)
1/2 lb ground pork

In a large bowl mix the egg, onion, parsley, garlic, salt, pepper, cheese, and bread crumbs.  Use your hands to mix in the ground beef and pork.  Roll the mixture into balls about 1 inch across (size isn’t as important as the meatballs being mostly even).  Carefully add the meatballs to the simmering broth, this can be done as you make them.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Italian Wedding Soup

  1. Lisa says:

    Looks yummy! When I am feeling a little bit better I will try making it for lunch sometime. 🙂

  2. Cas says:

    This looks delightfully easy. Have fun knitting! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

Leave a Reply

