Spinning – Lavender Hedgerow

Finally I am spinning something for myself.  It’s the beautiful Lavender Hedgerow I bought from Greenwood Fiberworks on Etsy.

It started life (with me, at least) as this:

I love the beautiful colors in this, and that they’re softly muted by the darker veins running through it.  One other unexpected delight is that once the rope was unbraided the colors lined up evenly when divided in two.  What this means is that when I spin each half, they SHOULD line up relatively well when I spin the two singles together.

The first single is already finished, and I’ve started on the second.  I’ve no idea how long it may end up, but I’ll find out soon enough.  Now I just have to decide what to knit with it.

Suggestions would be welcome.  I’m thinking a lacy scarf in a repeating pattern so I can use as much of the yarn as possible.

This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinning – Lavender Hedgerow

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    ooooh, so pretty! thanks for the link to Greenwood Fiberworks store. I’ve been on their site many time and love the rovings! I added them to my favorites. oh a scarf would be nice and i’m eager to see how the ply ends up look like.

    • tospinayarn says:

      I can’t wait to see it, either! I have been trying really hard not to buy too much roving right now. I have an entire bin of it, and spin even more slowly than I knit, which is sometimes hard to believe. It’s not like my projects are exactly flying off the needles. On the other hand, I seem to knit mostly large projects. And a super-slow sock. 🙂

Leave a Reply

