Kale and Sausage over Mashed Potatoes

Rob doesn’t like Kale.  I can’t blame him, it’s pretty bitter.  I’m honestly not a huge fan, but I generally like greens and certainly appreciate how healthy it is for us.  So I keep cooking it.  But now I actively try to make it more appealing for him.  I put it together with things he likes in hopes that he’ll eat it with minimal complaint.  So far it has mostly worked.

I served this two ways.  Plain, for Rob, and with Rosemary Mushroom Gravy for me.  (I love mushrooms, and think a meal without them is pretty much a wasted opportunity.)

I thought all the flavors of this blended surprisingly well.  It was tasty with or without the mushroom gravy (which I won’t be posting the recipe for because I think I can make it better), and the slightly-bitter Kale flavor was nicely accented by both sausage and potatoes.

Like most of the things I cook, this is relatively simple.  There’s a fair amount of prep-work such as peeling, washing, and chopping, but once you’ve done that you really just let everything cook.

Kale and Sausage over Mashed Potatoes

1 head of kale, greens stripped from the vein and broken into pieces.  Well Washed!
3 links of Italian Sausage, chopped into 1-2 inch pieces
2 large potatoes, peeled and chopped into even pieces
3 cloves of garlic
olive oil
salt and pepper
cream or milk

1.  Place potatoes in a large pot of lightly salted water and bring to a boil.  Allow potatoes to cook until they can be easily pierced with a fork or knife and slide off without resistance.

2.  Heat a large skillet over medium high heat.  Add olive oil and garlic.  Allow garlic to cook 1 minute before adding sausage.  Cook through, about 10 minutes.

3.  Drain potatoes and return to pot.

4.  Add well washed kale to skillet with sausage and cook until wilted.  Salt to taste.

5.  While kale is wilting, add cream and salt (and butter if desired) to potatoes and mash.  If you don’t have a potato masher, use a fork or unpowered beaters.  Do not overwork as potatoes will become gluey.

6.  Serve together and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kale and Sausage over Mashed Potatoes

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    I can’t wait for you to post your Mushroom Gravy – that sounds delicious! Have you tried making kale chips? My brother made them for me once – he baked them in the oven with a bit of salt on them and they came out crispy like potato chips. They were quite good, though I don’t know if baking them makes them less healthy . . .

    • tospinayarn says:

      I’ve heard of them, but have never tried them. Rob loves chips, so I wonder if he’d like Kale chips. I can see him being pretty skeptical, though. I’ll have to find a good recipe and try it out. I promise to post them and the mushroom gravy soon!

Leave a Reply

