Linguine with Vegetables

This isn’t the prettiest dish I’ve ever made, but it’s awfully tasty despite it’s homely appearance.  As always, the vegetables are completely changeable based on your own preferences.

The sauce is just ricotta cheese diluted with a little pasta water.  The vegetable flavors, particularly the tomatoes, are absorbed into the cheese, giving it a light fresh taste.

I really like pastas like this because they’re so easy and quick to make.  It amounts to little more than chopping, cooking and mixing.

I used tomato, broccoli and asparagus.  Lemon and garlic infused extra flavor.

Linguine with Vegetables

1 head broccoli, broken into small pieces
1/2 bunch asparagus, chopped
8 plum tomatoes, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
olive oil
linguine (or other long pasta)
1 cup fat free ricotta cheese
juice of 1 lemon
salt and pepper

1.  Cook pasta as directed.

2.  In a large pan heat olive oil and saute garlic until fragrant, about one minute.  Add tomatoes and broccoli and cook for roughly 5 minutes.  Add asparagus and lemon juice.  Cook until asparagus is soft but still slightly crisp.

3.  Add ricotta cheese and about 1/2 cup of pasta water to the vegetables, mix.  More or less pasta water can be used to achieve the desired consistency for the sauce.

4.  Drain pasta and toss with vegetables.  Serve and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Linguine with Vegetables

  1. Yum. This looks easy and delicious. I have some ricotta left over from a penne casserole I made a few days ago. Maybe I’ll give it a try.

    Quick, tasty recipes full of veggies are my favorite. I have a recipe for linguine with a tomato, zucchini, and garbanzo bean sauce that I love.

    • tospinayarn says:

      Oooh, I’ve seen Garbanzo bean sauces. I’ve wanted to try one, but have always been a little hesitant because Rob is surprisingly picky. I might have to do it some night he’s not home.

  2. Erika says:

    Thanks for the idea, I was wondering what to make for dinner.

    I’m a vegan, so I’ll change up the ricotta with some Kung Pao sauce or something…throw in some asian noodles of some sort and presto! Dinner!

    • tospinayarn says:

      I’m glad I could help! I always struggle with how to give recipes since I never cook something the same way twice, and always want to encourage people to adjust a dish and make it their own. I hope it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

