Baby Blanket 2

Well, I’m knitting another baby blanket.  You might remember this one that I knit for my brother’s upcoming baby.  He or she is due around the end of February.  The problem with that baby blanket is, while it’s lovely, it’s definitely girl only.   We don’t know if the baby is going to be a boy or a girl.  So I’m working on this:

Colors are most accurate in this photo.

 

It’s called Broken Stripes from 200 Stitch Patterns for Baby Blankets by Jan Eaton (#146 if you have the book).  I’ve done it in Knit Picks Swish Bulky in Creme Brulee and Honey Dew, but they’re both discontinued colors.  I have 550 yards total, so the blanket will be however large that allows.

It’s turning out really cute, and is much more masculine than my last blanket.  I would be happy giving this to either a baby boy or a baby girl.  It’s really thick and soft, and is 100% machine washable – certainly a must for baby items.   And because it’s bulky yarn on size 10 needles (I actually wish I was on size 11, but I’m too far to change now), it’s working up really quickly.  I don’t think I’ll have any problems finishing it before the end of February.

And who knows, the baby may be a girl after all.  Either way, s/he will be nice and warm in a blanket from Aunt Kali.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Blanket 2

  1. Claudia E Genuardi says:

    This blanket looks fantastic!!

  2. Very cool. I have no knitting or crafting genes whatsoever. My mom made a quilt for my first son, and I told her to use generic colors like green and yellow because we weren’t going to find out the sex until he was born.

    She made it out of blue fabric with little yellow flowers, and I was annoyed, but it turns out she could tell he was a boy from the ultrasound picture. I had no clue, but she was a nurse and used to work in L&D. I couldn’t believe she kept the secret for so long! 😉

Leave a Reply

