Knee Socks

I’m picky about socks.  I like socks that just reach the bottom of my ankle bone, or socks that rise the whole way to my knee.  Unfortunately, knitting a knee sock takes significantly longer than knitting the ankle variety.

I started these way back in May when Rob and I went golfing with my parents.  They all golf, I knit.  It’s a perfect arrangement.  Unfortunately, it got set aside this summer, and packed when we were moving, and it didn’t see the light of day again until November.

But I’ve picked it up again and now I’m here:

I’m just below mid-calf on the first sock, so I have a way to go, but I’m very happy that it’s turning out so pretty.  I know I’ll just love wearing these when I’m done with them.

Because I’m such a sensitive girl, the purl bumps on the sole of a sock hurt my feet.  On these I’ve put the purl bumps on the outside of the sole, so I stand on the nice, smooth knit side.  You can see the line along the edge of my foot where the pattern changes.

Beyond that, it’s just an easy 2×2 rib up my leg, gradually increasing to cover the shape of my calf.  They’ll be awesome, just as soon as I’m done.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knee Socks

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    these are looking great! isn’t that yarn yummy? you’ve gotten pretty far along – i can’t wait to see the finished product.

    • tospinayarn says:

      That’s sweet, and funny. I’ve been knitting them for 9 months and you put out a pair every week. But I do like it, and fully intend for it to eventually be a them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

