Goals for 2011

I didn’t really set myself any goals in 2010.  Not formal ones, anyway.  I had things I hoped to accomplish, some I did and some I didn’t, but I never took the time to make a list or track my progress.

In fact, the only real goal I made was to have finished my book, Life and Fire, by the end of the year.  Well, that didn’t happen.  Oops!

I can’t help but wonder if it would be finished if Rob and I hadn’t moved from Virginia to Texas, and then from the apartment to the house.  If I hadn’t been so busy trying to get my life under control again, would I have spent more time writing?  I hope so, but really the question is moot.  We moved.  Twice.  I didn’t finish the book.  Sure, they’re probably related, but everything is related somehow.

Anyway, I’ve made myself a list of goals for 2011.  Most I’ll share, some are personal and I’ll keep them to myself, but I think all are fully attainable if I work at them.

My 2011 Goals:
– Spend at least 4 hours a day, at least 5 days a week on writing or revision.
– On writing days, write at least 1,000 words a day.  On revision days, revise at least 1 chapter.
– Finish my Life & Fire manuscript and begin polishing.  Finish polishing if possible.
– Begin the manuscript for Air & Earth.
– Query at least 10 agents for Life & Fire if it’s ready.
– Keep a list of all the books I read in 2011.
– Cut my sugar consumption in half.  (Such a sad goal, but so much better for me.)
– Get outside for a walk with the girls at least 4 times a week.
– Knit all the items on my list and finish all the current projects.
– Spin some yarn and keep it for myself!
– Teach Rob how to cook.
– Keep the house clean and beautiful.
– Have company over at least once a month.

Some of these are easy goals and some of them are hard goals.  Some are easy to keep up for a few months and then become much more difficult.  But all are important to me for one reason or another.  I wonder which I will have accomplished by this time next year, and which will have fallen victim to time and circumstances?

Tell me, what goals do you have for 2011?

This entry was posted in Cooking, Knitting, Life, Spinning, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goals for 2011

  1. Great goals, Kali. They’re all things you have control over (unlike “get published”). I can so relate to the moving twice thing. And keeping the house clean and beautiful is always on my wish list. That is, I wish someone else would do it. 😉

    Good luck in 2011! I’ll be curious to see how it goes.

    • tospinayarn says:

      Ha! I wish someone else would keep my house clean, too. But thus far my house cleaning fairy has been conspicuously absent, so the chore falls to me. I hit all my goals today, but as it’s day 2 I’m not entirely certain that counts for much. Still, even the best streaks of accomplishment start at 1!

Leave a Reply

