Rob’s Christmas Stocking

This is Rob’s and my first Christmas as a married couple and in our new home.  So when it came time to think about decorating for the holidays, I decided to knit us each stockings.

I was a little worried about being able to finish them in time.  It takes me forever to knit a sock (I think this could be because I get bored with socks), and a stocking is just a really big sock.  But what a stocking has over a sock is large yarn and large needles.  I was able to knit Rob’s stocking in just two days.

Rob just wanted a simple Green, Red and White pattern for his stocking, and it was easy enough to provide.  I used a provisional cast on for the toe and knit up with a standard increase pattern – two increases on each side every other round for 12 rounds.  Then I started the White/Red/White/Green pattern.

The heel was where it got tricky, and this could easily have been solved by me not being stubborn and attempting it from memory.  It took me four tries and checking a pattern before I was able to move on.  Without those four tries I’m pretty sure I could have finished this in one sitting.  Oh well, sometimes I just get stubborn.

But in the end it was worth it.  He has a wonderful and manly Christmas Stocking, ready to be hung above our new fireplace.  I hope I can finish mine as easily.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rob’s Christmas Stocking

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    what a wonderful and special stocking – very nicely done. have a wonderful 1st Christmas in your new home 🙂

  2. Cas says:

    That is so cute!

Leave a Reply

