Grandmom’s Spaghetti Sauce

I’m a picky girl.  I don’t like most tomato-based sauces because I think they are disgustingly sweet.  I won’t eat pasta with sweet sauce, I won’t eat pizza with sweet sauce, and I wouldn’t be caught dead buying one of those sugared up jars of sauce from the grocery store.

Tomato sauce should be salty.  Really, it’s just better that way.

Luckily, my grandmother made wonderful tomato sauce, and I have the recipe.  I make this about twice a year, using what I need when I make it and freezing the rest in ziploc containers.  It freezes really well and defrosts even better.  Just microwave it for a minute to loosen up the sides, move it to a small sauce pot, cover, and heat over low until it is sauce again.

Grandmom’s Spaghetti Sauce

2 16oz cans of Whole Pealed Tomatoes
2 16oz cans of Tomato Puree
1 medium onion, chopped into blender-friendly chunks
2-6 cloves of garlic (depending how garlicy you want the sauce)
1 lb sausage, chopped (optional)
2 T olive oil (only necessary if using sausage)
Salt and Pepper
Powdered Fiber (optional)

1.  If you’ll be using sausage, begin browning over medium high in a large stock pot with enough olive oil to prevent sticking.  I use my 3 or 5 gallon pot.

2.  Toss garlic, chopped onion, and 1 can of whole tomatoes in the blender and puree until an even consistency.  Pour over browned sausage.  Blend second can of whole tomatoes and add to pot.  Add both cans of pureed tomatoes to pot.  Stir.

3.  Bring to a simmer and lower heat so sauce is barely bubbling.  Cover.  Allow to simmer 1.5 to 2 hours.  Salt and pepper to taste.

This recipe can be easily halved or quartered if you wish to make less sauce at one time.  It also is wonderful for cooking homemade meatballs in, though the cooking time goes up.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandmom’s Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Pingback: Lasagna Rolls | To Spin A Yarn

Leave a Reply

