The disjointed nature of writing

The title for this particular blog really seems to sum up my entire month so far.  Some writing days have been absolutely stellar, and some writing days I was lucky if I could come up with 10 utterly crappy words that barely make sense when strung together.

There’s a few things going on my life that I blame for this – buying a house, moving to said house, selling the house in DC, and more hours of unpacking than should be possible.  It feels a little bit like every time I get a free moment I find myself spending it on the phone going over paperwork, or trying to iron out details for something, and when I am finally able to sit and write, I worry over all the details that haven’t yet been taken care of.

There are still rooms to paint, furniture to buy, recycling to haul downtown, and the never ending supply of chores that just go into keeping a house running.

But mostly the fault lies with me.  Despite everything going on in my life, I could have found the time, energy, desire, creativity, etc to write if I had really wanted to.  I’m not reaching my goal this month (so far) because I haven’t put enough effort into it.  Most days, I’ve let myself succumb to the stress, even though November is all about teaching yourself to write through anything.

And yet, I’ve still managed to find hours and the occasional day where I can shed the reality around me and slip into my own fantasy world.

Yesterday was one of those amazing days where everything fell into place, and I was able to let the words pour out of me.  They came in droves, and after 4 hours, I had 4,000 words that I know are good.

Perfect?  No.  Good?  Yes.

I must have really been getting into it, too, because I didn’t notice Logan climbing on me until she ended up here:

First she took a good sniff at my screen, then settled in to look out the window.  Still, it made me smile, and after only a brief pause to take a picture, I continued with my writing.

Here’s hoping I have another perfect day.

This entry was posted in Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The disjointed nature of writing

  1. Shannon says:

    LOL – she must think she’s a cat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

