Over the hump

Thanks to a really awesome conversation with Rob yesterday (who deserves much more credit than I could ever give him), I finally figured out how to move forward with my book.

While this is great, it’s also a little bittersweet.  I’ve ripped out 8 of my beginning chapters to rework them entirely.  New plots, new locations, new people, new scenes – the works.

It’s frustrating to do that, but I have a strong feeling that this will be better.  Rob even helped me figure out how to keep my favorite scene if I changed a major rule of the world.  Yay!

So my day has been very bloody as I took the carving knife to my book.  It bled, I bled, but now we can move on and be better.

As for my Evenstar Shawl – it’s coming along fabulously well!  I’ve just realized I am now knitting 500 stitches PER ROW.  I’m also going blind.  Apparently when knitting tiny stitches with tiny lace yarn, it’s much harder to see if said yarn is really dark.  I’ve decided to give myself the day off today, to let my eyes rest and my hands un-cramp.

I’d love to post pictures of it, but it’s too big to show any patterning on now – it just looks like a blob of midnight wool.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Over the hump

  1. Christa Hinkle says:

    I cannot wait to read your book. I have no doubt you will be published!

  2. Jon says:

    For those tiny stitches, would a pair of magnifiers like these
    http://www.brent-krueger.com/magnifiers.html?source=google help?
    I have a pair that I use all the time in the computer lab. Note the higher the magnification, the shorter the working distance. For most things, the 1 3/4x @ 14″ is a good trade off.

    • tospinayarn says:

      I can just picture Rob laughing his head off at me as I wore those magnifying goggles to knit! I think what would really help would be one of those craft lights that illuminates everything really well, and maybe I’ll think about getting one once we move, but NO MORE STUFF until then! It’s obscene how full this tiny little condo is.

Leave a Reply

