I’m a bad girl

I haven’t been writing.  I’ve been thinking about writing a lot,  I’ve been feeling guilty about NOT writing, but I haven’t been writing.

It’s not that I don’t want to, I just feel stuck.  I’m currently debating the wisdom of rewriting my beginning entirely.  Not just rewriting it to make it sound better, but rewriting it in a way that would change the story entirely, that would change Adrianna and her way of looking at the world.  If I decide to change the beginning this way, I am changing the entire book.

I don’t know if that’s the right thing to do, and I feel paralyzed by my indecision.

I’ve spent 10 days trying to decide now, and I’m no closer to knowing the right choice than I was when I first started wondering.  Are these changes right for me?  Are they right for my story?  I just don’t know.

I don’t feel like this is writer’s block – I am still weaving chapters and scenes in my head, but I can’t move forward until I have decided on the direction I need to go.

I believe I have a good story on my hands, but would it be better if I scrap the whole thing and start again?

Small wonder I’ve been avoiding my computer.  I think I’ll go back to knitting now.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a bad girl

  1. Jodi Meadows says:

    Have you tried writing a synopsis? Or a query letter? I know it sounds crazy, but nothing gets a story focused like those things.

    Reread your beginning. Do you want to change it? Do you still like it? You can always open a new document, start the rewrite, and if you don’t like it, go back to the original.

Leave a Reply

