Pizza!

Yesterday Rob and I made our own pizza.  It was a lot of fun and a lot easier because I purchased pre-made dough.

I’m really fond of mushrooms on my pizza, and Rob likes pepperoni, so this was a good combination.  My biggest annoyance with chain store pizza is their sweet tomato sauce.  Yuck!  Pizza (and all foods with tomato sauce) should be salty and garlicy, not sweet.

So I made my own sauce.  I make sauce for a lot of things, so it was easy enough for me to wing.

Pizza Sauce

1 large can diced tomatoes
1 small yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 T chopped basil (fresh is best, dried is fine)
2 t salt
powdered fiber substitute if desired

Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree well.

Pizza

1 prepared Pilsbury pizza dough
1/2 to 1 cup sauce
1/2 to 1 cup cheese
preferred toppings

Flatten dough.  Top with sauce, cheese, and preferred toppings.  Bake at 425 degrees on a greased cookie sheet for 15 – 20 minutes, until the crust is fully cooked and the cheese is bubbly.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

