Lemon Pasta with Broccoli and Lemon Mushroom Salad

Mushrooms are perhaps my favorite vegetable ever.  I enjoy eating them in anything at any time.  If someone wanted to serve me mushrooms for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert I’d probably dig in and ask for more.  So when I saw Giada had made a salad from them, it instantly caught my attention.

I’ve never thought of making a salad without lettuce before.  Even though my family occasionally makes Tomato Salad, it just doesn’t seem like a salad to me.  This one did.

I used all white button mushrooms in this salad, even though Giada said you could use any mix of mushrooms you want.  Buttons are my favorite, and Rob isn’t a super adventurous eater.  Making a salad without lettuce was enough of a stretch.

The pasta dish was easy and straightforward.  Pasta with steamed broccoli and the exact same dressing used on the salad.

So here’s what you need.

Lemon Pasta with Broccoli
and
Lemon Mushroom Salad

1/2 – 1 pound pasta, cooked
2 heads broccoli, chopped into florets and steamed
juice of 2 lemons
1lb fresh, sliced mushrooms of your choice
1 small handful fresh parsley, chopped
fresh Parmesan cheese, coarsely grated
olive oil
salt and pepper

To make the pasta:
Cook pasta as directed on the package and steam broccoli.  Combine and toss with dressing.

To make the Mushroom Salad:
Thinly slice all mushrooms and put in a bowl.  Finely chop a small handful of parsley and add as well.  Add dressing, salt and pepper to taste and toss.  Top with Parmesan shavings and serve.

To make the lemon dressing:
Combine the juice of a lemon and extra virgin olive oil in equal parts and a pinch of salt. Whisk until combined.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lemon Pasta with Broccoli and Lemon Mushroom Salad

  1. Jon says:

    This is a quibble. Mushrooms are fungus. Given that everything is either Animal, Vegetable or Mineral, they’re vegetables, but mostly folks think of vegetables as being photosynthesizing organisms.

    Quoting wikipedia, vegetables are “trees, herbs, bushes, grasses, vines, ferns, mosses, and green algae” . I don’t know where that puts mushrooms, but there aren’t green and don’t photosynthesize.

    what can I tell you, I was a biology major…

    • tospinayarn says:

      I believe they are a vegetable from a culinary point of view, just as a tomato is. Therefore, for the purposes of this blog, my own mental sanity and ease of communication, mushrooms are a vegetable. 🙂

  2. Jon says:

    but there aren’t green and don’t photosynthesize.

    should be

    but they aren’t green and don’t photosynthesize.

Leave a Reply

