Tragedy for Miss Babs

I found out today that my absolute favorite hand dyer, Miss Babs, has suffered a serious blow to her business.

She dyes yarn and roving by hand out of her studio, and it is some of the prettiest yarn I have ever had the pleasure of working with.

Yesterday she announced that an accident had caused massive smoke damage to her stock, and that none of it was recoverable.  For those of you who don’t knit, smoke not only clings to natural fibers (as it does to everything else), but it can change the color of dyes and wool as well.  She said that she has had to throw out over 1000 pounds of yarn and roving.

I can’t imagine how awful this must be for her, and wish there were something I could do to help.  As I don’t actually know her, or live anywhere near Tennessee (let alone know where in TN she lives), that’s not possible for me to do.

So I am leaving my blog with a tribute to Miss Babs, and a promise that as soon as she’s back up and running, I’ll once again be purchasing my favorite yarn.

All but the two in bags are Miss Babs

Logan in a Miss Babs sweater

Ella in a Miss Babs sweater

A close-up of my enormous Miss Babs shawl

Close-up of the cabled pocket I've made on my Miss Babs sweater

Spinning with Miss Babs roving

More spinning with Miss Babs roving

Miss Babs sock yarn, waiting for me to enjoy it

Miss Babs worsted-weight, waiting for the right project

Good luck Miss Babs.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tragedy for Miss Babs

  1. MissBabs says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words and thoughts. The outpouring of emotional support has been so meaningful. Thank you, B

Leave a Reply

