Food Fails

Sometimes a recipe just doesn’t live up to the hype.  And sometimes I should have known better.

I love the Smitten Kitchen blog, she almost always comes through for me with exceptionally tasty meals.  This one fell flat.

Scalloped Tomatoes with Croutons sounded delicious, and I think with a few modifications it would be much more to my taste.  It’s baked tomatoes and bread with basil… what could be yummier?

Still, I should have known to make a small change, and it’s entirely my fault I didn’t trust myself.

What change?  No sugar.

I don’t know why people insist on adding sugar to tomatoes.  It’s in tomato sauce on pizza, tomato sauce on pasta, in numerous tomato dishes, and it was in this one.

I think tomatoes are best when they are ripe and warm and salty.  I have never once liked a tomato dish with sugar in it, so why did I think I would like this one?  It’s such a simple thing to not add sugar…

I think it’s also a very pretty meal, that was paired quite well with a simple salad.  It just would have been better without sugar.

Scalloped Tomatoes with Croutons

Original recipe by the Barefoot Contessa, modified by Smitten Kitchen, modified by me.

3 T olive oil
2 cups diced french bread
8-10 plum tomatoes, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 t  salt
1 t pepper
1/2 cup chopped basil leaves
1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Saute bread cubes in olive oil until toasty on all sides, about 5 minutes.

Combine tomatoes, garlic, basil, salt and pepper in a large bowl. When the bread cubes are toasted, add the tomato mixture and cook them together for 5 minutes. Stir often.

Remove from heat, pour into a shallow baking dish and top with Parmesan cheese. Bake 35 to 40 minutes until the top is browned and the tomatoes are bubbly.

Oh, and if you want to add sugar, it’s 2 T granulated sugar into the tomatoes before you cook them.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Fails

  1. Cara says:

    Sounds yum, you are right! The sugar is supposed to enhance the natural sweetness of the tomatoes, but I never add it either. Definitely not to my sauce!!!! Was this filling enough for a main course??? My husband ususally requires some meat.

    • tospinayarn says:

      It was super filling, and Rob added bacon bits to his salad which seemed to mollify him as to the lack of meat. I think you could pretty easily add chicken or sausage to this dish and cook it all together, though.

  2. Judy says:

    When I was a kid my Dad always ate fresh tomatoes with salt and pepper, but when I went to Grandpa’s he put sugar on his tomato slices. And he let me put sugar on mine! I loved to visit my Grandparent’s and this is one of the reasons I liked to go there in the summer! I fully admit to a sweet tooth (or two)! 🙂

    • tospinayarn says:

      I totally have a sweet tooth, I just don’t like sugar with vegetables and should have trusted my instincts not to add it. If sugary tomatoes appeal to you – go for it!

Leave a Reply

