Accountability

Today I am doing something I rarely do.  I am making my plans public in an attempt to make them more solid and hold myself accountable for reaching my goals within my timeline.

This may not be realistic, it may not be attainable, but I’m putting it in writing and am going to do my level best to make it work.

This weekend – create a new outline for my current book based on the changes I have made and want to make.

Next week – create an outline for books 2 and 3.  They don’t have to be detailed, but it needs to be a start, at least, on where the books are going.  I can add to and change these as I see fit over the next months.

October 20th – the date I want to be finished with my rewrite/revisions/edits to this first book.  This is going to require some very serious time commitment, but I finally think I’m in a place where I understand enough about my book and my writing to move forward at a good speed.  At this point I want to give out a few copies of the finished book to select people to read.

November – National Novel Writing Month – time to write book 2.

December – collect all the copies of book 1 and the feedback from each reader.  Compile all the notes and make edits based on their feedback.  This month will also be the beginning of the great agent search.

(this is where the timeline gets a little dicey)

Sometime between February and April – begin writing book 3.  Continue with agent search as necessary.

Once book 3 is done – begin edits on book 2 and edit for as long as necessary to finish book 2 and 3.

I’m banking a lot on being able to finish my edits for book 1 by November, and on having figured out the best way for me to write/edit by then which will hopefully make the next two books go more smoothly.  The past 8 months have been one hell of a learning process, but I’m finally feeling more confident in my abilities and that I am able to accomplish what I want to do.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Accountability

  1. Rhiannon says:

    You should get a fan mail address, one that is like your publishing company, so you fans can mail you what they think and such. Then make sure the people at your publishing company (or wherever) will forward you the fan mail, and advertise the fan mail address in the back of your book, so they know where to mail you. Good Luck!!!!! =D

  2. Mom says:

    Good for you. I think it is quite ambitious to have book 3 finished by the spring, but it is good to have a time line and goals. I hope you make it work!!!

    • tospinayarn says:

      Only one finished by Spring. The others just need a decent start. For me the writing isn’t the hard part, it’s the bajillion edits and later drafts that takes the longest. If I can have one finished book a year, that would be absolutely awesome.

  3. Pingback: Eating My Words | To Spin A Yarn

Leave a Reply

