Cooking with the Nieces

I love Rob’s family.  They’re a great bunch of people and I really could not have been luckier with my in-laws.  I -really- love my nieces.

To me, they are just the sweetest girls I’ve ever met.  Sure, they squabble and complain like all kids do – they’re still normal kids, but they’re generally incredibly nice to each other and really pleasant little girls.  I wish we lived closer and could see them (and everyone else) more often, but that seems unlikely to happen.

I have fun with them, though.  We snuggle a bit, talk a lot, play games, Rhi and I went shopping, and one day we cooked together.

The girls wanted to cook with me, so we decided to make a little mixed vegetable dish to go with the BBQ Rob’s Dad was making.  (I should get that recipe.  The ribs, especially, were amazingly good.)

We decided to make a quick and easy vegetable saute: broccoli, mushrooms, onions and garlic in olive oil and salt.  And I had a lot of really good little helpers.

Rhi carefully cut up the mushrooms while I did the broccoli.  Later she helped me chop up the onion, too.

Sydney and Gwen did a great job of juicing lemons into the artichoke water.  The girls wanted to try an artichoke, so I winged it at cooking one.  It was rather bland, I should have looked up a recipe.

But the veggies were really yummy, and it was nice to have something green with all that BBQ!

Easy Veggies

Any vegetables you want, chopped into bite-sized pieces
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Garlic
Salt
Other herbs/spices (optional)

Heat the garlic in the olive oil until fragrant.  Toss in vegetables (put vegetables with longer cooking times in first, then add others later if they don’t cook evenly).  Coat evenly with olive oil and cook until tender but not limp.  Sprinkle with salt and other desired herbs (I like to use basil or dill) and serve.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cooking with the Nieces

  1. Jon says:

    Well, I guess I have to give the ribs recipe now.
    These were baby back ribs. Our local grocery store didn’t have a nice slab of spare ribs, so I had to settle for baby backs. (They have redeeming features of their own.)
    I don’t so anything very special with them. I rub them with a rub of the following:

    ¾ C paprika, ¼ C black pepper, ¼ C salt, ¼ C brown sugar, 2 Tbs chili powder, 2 Tbs garlic powder, 2 Tbs onion powder, 2 tsp cayenne

    and then I smoke them over charcoal and hickory for 4 hours at 250 degrees and spritz them every 20 minutes with a mixture of half and half apple juice and bourbon.

  2. Jon says:

    “I don’t so anything very special with them. ” should read “I don’t DO anything very special with them.”

  3. Rhiannon says:

    Heyy, that’s me! I love you -veryy- much, too Aunt Kali! =DDD Can’t wait to see you again!!!

Leave a Reply

