Turkey Meatloaf

I love meatloaf.  I think it’s a really tasty form of comfort food.  My biggest problem with it, however, is grease.  The only things in this world my body seems to hate more than meat fat are pine trees.

It’s simple enough to avoid meat fat when cooking steak or stew or any sort of poultry and fish… I cut if off before I cook whatever I’m preparing.

I can’t do that with hamburger.  I used to buy hamburger that was only 3% fat, but none of the grocery stores I shop at stock hamburger that lean anymore.  Rob and I have begun substituting ground Bison for hamburger, but I wasn’t certain how to spice Bison in a meatloaf.  So I tried using Ground Turkey instead.

I have to say, given that I smushed about 8 different Turkeyloaf recipes together, it ended up tasting pretty darn good.  I think in the future I will be spicing it a little more heavily, perhaps using some paprika and cinnamon, and maybe even a bit of rosemary, but what I made last night was quite tasty with wonderful texture.

Oh, I also stole the idea from Rachel Ray of making them individually sized and sauteing them before putting them in the oven.  That was just a little trick of hers to make them cook faster, and it really worked!

Turkey Meatloaf

1 pound ground turkey
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 zucchini, finely chopped (I think grating it would work as well)
10 button mushrooms, sliced thin
1 small can V-8
1 egg
1/2 cup Italian Style Bread Crumbs
2/3 cup Old Fashioned Oatmeal
3 Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 Tablespoons salt
1 Tablespoon ground pepper
1 slice of bacon per individual meatloaf
olive oil for sauteing

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients and shape into 6 individually sized patties.  In a large saute pan coated with olive oil, brown both sides of each patty over medium-high heat, about 5-7 mins a side.

Transfer patties to a greased baking dish and carefully wrap each one with a slice of bacon.  Put in oven and cook for 25 minutes.  Check to make sure they are fully cooked before serving.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

