Stuffed Zucchini

The other day I was wandering through my cooking blogs and came across the most drool-worthy healthy recipe I have ever seen: Stuffed Zucchini.

Originally this recipe was from Tartelette, but I modified it quite a bit.

I found it very easy to make, even if there was a lot of chopping involved.  In one rather hair raising moment I nearly took off a part of my thumb, but succeeded in simply sheering my thumb nail down to where it attaches to my hand.  I’m usually so careful with knives, and I really was paying attention… I just misjudged where the knife was going.  Thank god it wasn’t worse.

The biggest thing to recommend this meal is that Rob liked it!  It’s 85% vegetables, and yet he ate every single bit and my leftovers.  Clearly it’s a winner.

I also liked the combination of the smoky sausage and the fresh zucchini, as well as the texture of the quinoa I added.  I think when I make this again in the future I’ll use a more flavorful mushroom because I felt the button mushrooms were lost in the mix.  Still, I knew they were there and that made me happy.  There’s not a lot that mushrooms can’t improve in my opinion.

So what did I do?

Stuffed Zucchini  (serves 2 adults)

2 Large Zucchini, one thin slice cut off for a “cap”; remove all seeds from both sides
1 clove garlic
1/2 white onion, chopped
1/2 container of button mushrooms, coarsely chopped (or exchange for more flavorful mushroom)
2 plum tomatoes, finely chopped
2 links Italian Sausage, casings removed and chopped into small pieces
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees and cook quinoa according to instructions (usually 1 cup quinoa to 1.25 cups water, simmer for 12 minutes).

Saute garlic and onion in olive oil over medium high heat until translucent.  Add mushrooms and sausage and continue to cook until just a hint of pink remains to the meat.  Add tomato and saute all until well cooked.  Salt and pepper to taste here.

Once finished, stir in quinoa (I used half the cooked quinoa, about 1 cup).  Use mixture to stuff zucchini, adding any extra to the bottom of the baking pan zucchini are in.

Bake for roughly 25 minutes, depending on the size and thickness of your zucchini.

Serve and enjoy.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

