Strawberries on Parade

Yesterday we went strawberry picking.

Mom, Rob and I piled in the car and drove out to this cute little pick-your-own farm about 20 minutes away, and spent a fun and relaxing hour doing little more than chat and laugh while we picked 2 large crates (26 pounds) of ripe, red, succulent, sun-warmed strawberries.  It’s enough to make a sane person drool.

It was surprisingly fun to pick strawberries.  The ripe ones pull right off the vine with very little effort and a delightful little snap.  It’s the simple pleasures I suppose, but I really enjoyed hearing the tiny snap of the vine every time a perfectly ripe strawberry pulled free.

I was also greatly amused by the process of picking my own food.  Grocery stores create such distance from the food we eat that we don’t always think about how the food came to be there in the first place.  Farmer’s Markets are a little better, but still remove us from the growing and harvesting of our food.

As I knelt between rows of strawberry plants, picking only the ripest of fruits, it made me smile to think that many farmers pay people to harvest their berries, but we were paying the farmer to let us harvest for him.

Mom and I will be embarking on various jam experiments now.  We’ll make Strawberry Jam, Strawberry Conserve, Strawberry Preserves, and maybe even a bit of Strawberry and Chocolate Jam…. YUM!

I’m hoping that with 26 pounds of deliciously ripe strawberries we’ll get a bunch of jam, but as I am hardly a jam-making expert, I can only guess 26 pounds of fruit will make a lot of jam.

Despite the insane quantities of strawberries we now have, I can’t help but look at them and think, “Will that be enough?”

The mind boggles at the idea that 26 pounds of fruit wouldn’t be enough to stuff a good number of people, let alone make jam for 6.  But still I look over the berries we collected and wonder if maybe we should have harvested more.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberries on Parade

  1. Judy says:

    One of my fondest memories of growing up on an Iowa farm (and believe me, I have many) was picking wild strawberries that grew along the fence row. They were the size of the end of your little finger, but very sweet and juicy. None every made it home! Enjoy your jam making and the yummy rewards. I am envious!

  2. Tina Dempter says:

    I was at a strawberry farm in California, and only half of the strawberries that I picked made it back home. My tongue (and stomach) had a hard time getting back to normal…but what a delicious way to suffer !

Leave a Reply

