Waging War

Today I feel a little like I am waging war on my home.  Perhaps inside my home.

Rob and I are going out of town for a while (which I don’t mind sharing since the people who know where we live already know we are going out of town, and those that didn’t know don’t know where we live.).  Normally packing is no difficulty for me as I happily put together items for both Rob and I to survive however long we will be gone.

Not so this time.

Packing for this trip is like planning a military campaign.  Within the space of one week we will be: attending an outdoor memorial party, going for walks in the woods, hopefully having a picnic, likely gardening or playing in the dirt, going to the beach, hanging out at a country club, going golfing a few times, and attending our friends’ wedding.

I don’t think I could come up with a wider range of activities necessitating a wider range of clothing unless I included deep sea diving or ice climbing.

The amount of clothing and personal grooming products for the wedding alone is enough to make two very low-key individuals cringe.

But it doesn’t end there.  We’ll also be bringing Rob’s golf clubs, both of our laptops, both of our dogs, a number of board games (have I mentioned my husband is a lovable nerd), a number of writing books (I may be a lovable nerd as well), and at least two knitting projects (alright, I’m definitely a lovable nerd).

So let’s look at this again.  In the car we will have: two adults, two dogs, two large suitcases, a garment bag with the wedding clothes, a (not small) set of golf clubs, a bag of board games, two laptop bags, a craft bag and possibly a book bag.  And that’s not including the mess that is already in the car.

I can feel my mileage per gallon plummeting already.

The only thing I can say is thank god I bought a car with more trunk room than Jupiter two years ago.  Neither my little coupe or Rob’s 4-door would be up to the job of hauling all this stuff.

Maybe once we have the car packed I’ll take pictures, just because it would be fun to see.  Then again, maybe that would only be interesting to the people who shoved it all in there.

Packing tips are welcome, I have a feeling I’ll need them!

This entry was posted in Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waging War

  1. Tina Dempter says:

    Wait ’til you back “with and for kids” too….UGH!

Leave a Reply

