Wesley’s Stocking

Last year, right after Thanksgiving, I came up with a brilliant plan: Design and knit THREE Christmas Stockings for Wesley, Rob, and myself, all in less than a month.  I knew it was crazy.  Typing it now I still know I was crazy. Back then when I told people what I was doing, I even told them I was crazy.  Turns out, I was right.  It was completely crazy.  Wesley’s stocking, the only one I even started, has been languishing since December 21, when it was completely obvious I was not going to finish in time for Christmas.

I sketched out patterns…

IMG_3304

I decided on color palettes, this one being mostly final…

IMG_3220

I finalized the pattern and order I wanted to use… I even color coded it, though that changed on the fly as I decided certain things did and did not work.

IMG_3305

And I knit…

IMG_4272

I’m actually most of the way done.  I’m working on one large snowflake motif at the top, then just need to add his name and a border, before working in an afterthought heel at the dark green line in the middle of the cream.  It’s really not a lot.  If I actually pick it up and knit on it, this stocking will ABSOLUTELY be done in time for Christmas.  Heck, I could finish it, and start designing and knitting two more.  That doesn’t seem like enough pressure for one season, though.  Maybe I’ll wait for summer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wesley’s Stocking

  1. AlohaBlu says:

    Kali! Oh my goodness – this looks amazing already. I’ve got two stockings to finish before Xmas (felt sewing kit and needlepoint) and your early start for 3 is inspiring! Please keep posting photos – I can’t wait to see how these turn out :)

Leave a Reply

