Ham and Cheese Quinoa Bites

These are so delicious! I made 24 of them an hour ago, and already we are down to 8. Even Wesley ate two and a half.

IMG_5353

See?  He loves them.

A friend turned me on to this recipe from Iowa Girl – her Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups. I modified them, though I doubt I would have if I didn’t have to go to the grocery to get the correct ingredients.  I had things that substituted just fine, and still ended up with cheesy, crunchy, salty, bite sized deliciousness.

IMG_5343

You can follow the link above to check out her recipe, I’m sure it’s wonderful.  I’ll post mine with the modifications I made below.  There are also dozens of other combinations you can try in this.  Iowa girl lists BLT, Mushroom Swiss, Broccoli Cheddar, and I can think of any number more.  If I ever had leftover salmon, I’d love to toss that in here with some spinach.  Or substitute leftover risotto for the leftover quinoa.

IMG_5352

Besides the deliciousness, the best thing about these is that they are completely customizable and a huge kid pleaser.  You’ll need to make your own, though.  Wesley doesn’t want to share.

Ham and Cheese Quinoa Bites

2/3 cup of ham, diced into small pieces
1 cup of shredded pizza cheese (a blend of mozzarella, cheddar, asiago, and colby)
2 whole eggs
2 egg whites
the tops of 5 pieces of leftover broccoli, roughly chopped
2 cups of cooked quinoa
1 T dried parsley
garlic salt
pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and liberally coat a mini muffin tin with nonstick spray.

2. Mix eggs, cheese, ham, broccoli, salt, pepper, and parsley together in a bowl until well mixed.  Add quinoa and mix again.

3.  Spoon mixture roughly to the top of each muffin cup.

4. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the outside of each Quinoa Bite is golden brown.  Let cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ham and Cheese Quinoa Bites

  1. Awesome! Will have to try this as Quinoa is supposedly great to have in your diet when you have crappy cholesterol (matt).

  2. I made them, too, and ohmygoodnessme are they good! We go through them fast! (And by “we” I mostly mean “I”.) I make them with ham, eggs, cheese, quinoa, and cooked spinach.

Leave a Reply

