Salmon and Arugula Fritatta

I’ve been experimenting with meals that can be frozen and reheated in preparation for baby’s forthcoming arrival.  This being my first, I have absolutely no idea what I may or may not be capable of after he’s born, how many hours of sleep I can hope to be getting, or how much of my waking time he is actually going to consume.  So… meals that freeze.

I don’t want to be eating only pasta dishes once the baby arrives, which freeze quite well but do get a little boring.  I love lasagna and other baked pastas as much as the next girl… possibly more… but I also appreciate variety.  So when I came across a recipe for a lox and arugula fritatta as a freezer meal, I decided to give it a go.

The original recipe called for smoked Lox, and I did buy nice, smoked salmon.  I feel a little bit like this is a waste of money, though.  If you make salmon for dinner one night, you could easily use leftover salmon in this fritatta, or even buy a can of salmon.  Once it is cooked the Lox just tastes like normal cooked salmon.  I didn’t need to spend extra money on special smoked salmon just to cook it.

A much smaller modification I would suggest is to roughly chop the arugula before wilting it.  One of the great things about fritatta is that it is a fork-only meal – no knives necessary.  The whole pieces of arugula really make a knife helpful.  Especially as I am considering ways to be able to eat one handed, I fully believe that a quick chop of the arugula would make this a meal that is easier to consume.

Salmon and Arugula Fritatta

1-2 cups cooked salmon (or lox) chopped into bite-size pieces
1 bag arugula, chopped (baby spinach would work, too)
8 eggs
1/2 cup cream
1 clove garlic, minced
zest from 1 lemon
olive oil
salt and pepper

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In a large mixing bowl, lightly beat eggs and cream together.  Add chopped salmon, lemon zest, salt and pepper and whisk to incorporate.

3.  Heat a large nonstick, oven safe skillet over medium heat.  Add 1 T olive oil and garlic.  Saute garlic until fragrant and softening, about 1 minute.  Add chopped arugula and wilt, about 2 minutes.

4.  Spread arugula out evenly in pan and pour egg mixture in.  Gently spread out salmon.  Cook until bottom is golden brown, roughly 5 minutes.

5.  Using a rubber spatula, loosen the edges of the fritatta from the pan.  Turn off burner and place the pan into the oven to finish cooking the fritatta, 7-10 minutes.

6.  Test to ensure egg is fully cooked.  When fritatta is finished cooking allow it to cool for 5 minutes, then serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salmon and Arugula Fritatta

  1. alicia says:

    chicken parm is another great freezer meal. get just the chicken breaded and ready, freeze, and make individual portions on a baking sheet by dumping some tomato sauce on top.

    chili would freeze well too.

    i was planning on starting to stock my freezer like this when my boyfriend suddenly decided to go meat-free… all the power to him, but finding freeze-able veggie meals is even harder to do!

    • Kali says:

      Thanks Alicia! I’ll have to try that one out, too. I think the “Fast and Easy Vegetable Polenta Soup” I posted a few days ago would freeze well. It’s a vegetarian dish if you swap the chicken broth for vegetable. :)

Leave a Reply

