Baby Monster’s Baby Blanket

I’ve begun working on a blanket for my little monster.  I bought some beautiful organic cotton from Blue Sky Alpaca in Limeade.  See how lovely it is?

I think the light greens, light yellows, and creams make a very happy combination for baby, whether he or she turns out to be a boy or a girl.

At the moment it’s still growing pretty slowly.  I haven’t gotten the entirety of my knitting mojo back yet, or even most of it.  But even at this rate it will be done before baby gets here.  4 rows a week.

The photo is a little washed out, but I’m working in a basic waffle pattern.  It’s a very basic 4 stitch pattern with a 4 row repeat. I’m working it over 151 stitches.  I’m not entirely certain how large that will be after blocking, but it looks like it will be the size I like to call “big enough.”

The cotton sheds a little more than I would like, but it’s nice and soft.  I also thought cotton might work well down here in Texas instead of wool, simply due to the heat.  I’ll update with any progress.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby Monster’s Baby Blanket

  1. Cheryl Waters says:

    I’ve used Blue Sky organic cotton and really like it. Baby Monster already has a very loving mommy! What a lucky baby.

  2. Corinn says:

    Aw it looks soft!

  3. AlohaBlu says:

    Kali! I was just thinking of you this weekend and wondering how you were feeling. The yarn looks lovely and I bet it’s super soft. It must be sooo exciting to be knitting something for your own baby!

    • Kali says:

      It is!!! I’ve knit so many things for other people’s babies, and now this is for my own! It’s a hard feeling to describe, but a wonderful one. :D

  4. Cas says:

    I love the name Baby Monster! And that’s a cute color. Totally agree about cotton in Texas. Oh god, my poor SCA friends in their Elizabethans this summer… don’t even want to think about it.

    Found you a beet recipe, sweetie. Let me know if you want it! I can email it or post here, whatever. It’s AMAAAAAAAZING sounding, a marinated beet and goat cheese sandwich thing in a new cookbook I just got by Lahey. I’ve got two bags of beets from the organic farm I subscribe to and oh dear god I have no frickin clue what to do with ‘em all.

Leave a Reply

